matiou06

Hdmi and RCa video output

Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:08 pm

Hello every body.
I have a project, install a pi witn a 7" touscreen display in my car.
I have a problem, i have no video siganl from the rca output, my display have only rca input.
I have connect my pi to my tv througt the hdmi port and it works nice.
What is the problem, can someone help me to abble rca video output in my pi ?
I'm a newbie so if someone can help me to do it dtep by step.
Thanks for all cheers.

BMS Doug

Re: Hdmi and RCa video output

Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:50 pm

The raspberry pi should default to RCA when HDMI isn't connected, unless you have changed the settings in the config.txt file.
I think that is more likely that the RCA input pinout on your screen is different from the pi's RCA output pinout.
Doug.
Building Management Systems Engineer.

matiou06

Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:00 am

Hi BMS Doug
I have not change the the config txt, my monitor works perfectly when i put another source such as a dvd player in the rca input. Can u tell me how to force the Rapsberry pi to use the rca output instead of hdmi outpout, if you can show me step by step because i am not very good with this new OS (linux) and how to do it with a new command line txt. Thank u !!!

fruitoftheloom

Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:47 am

The Composite (Analog Video) Out on the Raspberry Pi Models B and B+ are different

The B uses a standard RCA Composite Cable http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Composite_video

The B+ uses a 4 pole TRRS Cable http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/0 ... video-jack

The Pi will auto-detect whether a Composite or HDMi is plugged in by default........
Adieu

rpdom

Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:31 am

Did you install your OS from a NOOBS setup, or from an image download.

If you used NOOBS and setup up on your TV then the Pi has been forced to HDMI output and will not switch to RCA.