lunarkingdom
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:38 am

retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not games

Sun Aug 03, 2014 3:04 am

Hi,

retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not games, I connected via gpio 2 joysticks and 12 buttons and they all work great in ES but only keyboard works in the games, any help would be awesome I really want to start playing my games

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not ga

Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:29 am

lunarkingdom
OK, you half way there! Emulation Station (the Front End GUI/Launcher) is configured, now you have to do the same with RetroArch (which runs the Emulator Cores).

Link - https://github.com/petrockblog/RetroPie ... controller

Skip the first Part (you have already set up the Contoller/Config) and follow the instructions under the heading 'RetroPie Configuration'. It involves using jstest then adding the SDL codes to the retroarch.cfg File.
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

User avatar
DigitalLumberjack
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not ga

Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:43 pm

Hi,

If you want to configure retroarch inputs easily, start retroarch directyl from its directory (/opt/retropie/emulators/RetroArch/installdir/bin/retroarch or something like that).

Then with the keyboard go to settings, inputs and set your config here (you choose the joystick interface for each player and set buttons.

Then return to the first menu and save the new configuration.

In this configuration file, you will find the input part that you can either copy in your main retroarch configuration, or in a new config file that you will add to your ~/.emulationstation/es_systems.cfg commands.

Here is a part of my custom input config file i put at /home/pi/RetroArch/configs/inputs.cfg :

Code: Select all

input_driver = "udev"
input_device_p1 = "0"
input_player1_joypad_index = "0"
input_libretro_device_p1 = "1"
input_player1_analog_dpad_mode = "0"
input_device_p2 = "0"
input_player2_joypad_index = "1"
input_libretro_device_p2 = "1"
input_player2_analog_dpad_mode = "0"


input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_hold_fast_forward_axis = "+5"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_load_state_btn = "0"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_save_state_btn = "3"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_exit_emulator_btn = "11"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_slowmotion_axis = "-5"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "9"
input_rewind_axis = "nul"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "16"
input_menu_toggle_btn = "2"
input_menu_toggle = "m"



input_player1_b = "z"
input_player1_b_btn = "2"
input_player1_b_axis = "nul"
input_player1_y = "a"
input_player1_y_btn = "3"
input_player1_y_axis = "nul"
input_player1_select = "rshift"
input_player1_select_btn = "8"
input_player1_select_axis = "nul"
input_player1_start = "enter"
input_player1_start_btn = "11"
input_player1_start_axis = "nul"
....
And here is the system configuration for my snes in es_systems.cfg, see the append config in the "command" entry :

Code: Select all

 <system>
        <name>snes</name>
        <fullname>Super Nintendo Entertainment System</fullname>
        <path>~/RetroPie/roms/snes/all/</path>
        <extension>.smc .sfc .SMC .SFC</extension>
        <command>/opt/retropie/supplementary/runcommand/runcommand.sh 4 "/opt/retropie/emulators/RetroArch/installdir/bin/retroarch -L /opt/retropie/emulatorcores/pocketsnes-libretro/libretro.so --config /opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg --appendconfig /home/pi/RetroPie/configs/inputs.cfg,/home/pi/RetroPie/configs/smooth.cfg %ROM%"</command>
        <platform>snes</platform>
        <theme>snes</theme>
    </system>

User avatar
DigitalLumberjack
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not ga

Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:46 pm

Please don't post the same question in multiple post, i try to help you spending time to answer your questions and then i see someone already told you the same thing in an other post.

H3nd0
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not ga

Sun Aug 03, 2014 11:04 pm

I'm having the same issue and I tried to configure the RetroArch file, but I'm having trouble.

I've also ran jstest and it recognized the controller.

I type in "cd /opt/retropie/emulators/RetroArch/installdir/bin/" and then "./retroarch-joyconfig -o p1.cfg -p 1 -j 0" and then when the prompt for "B Button (down)" comes up I press the B button on my controller, nothing. I hold the B button, nothing. It just sits there asking for the B Button.

I'm using a wireless xbox360 controller.

lunarkingdom
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:38 am

Re: retropie controllers work in emulationstation but not ga

Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:58 am

sorry digitallumberjack, I was not getting any replies so I thought I would reword it so it made more sense thus the new posts, I will try and see if I can find those files right now and post my progress.


Return to “Gaming”