ericfmyers

barcode string matching

Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:14 pm

Hello, everyone. I'm new to the Raspberry Pi and to Python. For my first project I became a little ambitious and set up a verification system.

How it works:
A barcode scanner attached to the Raspberry Pi scans one barcode (on the outside of a box) and another scanner scans another barcode (maybe on the inside of the box. Packing list or invoice). If the two are a match, a green LED flashes and the motor running the conveyor continues to run. If the two barcodes do not match then the motor stops and a red light comes on. A button is also attached to the Raspberry Pi to reset and start again.

The code that I created is works, it just seems too simple. I don't want it to just work, I want it to be correct. There's got to be like six more pages of code that I'm missing, right?

Code: Select all

# 4 Line Switch Off/On
# 17 Error light
# 23 Good Scan
# 18 Reset Button

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setwarnings(False)
GPIO.setup(4, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.output(4, True)
GPIO.setup(17, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.output(17, True)
GPIO.setup(23, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.output(23, True)
GPIO.setup(18, GPIO.IN, pull_up_down=GPIO.PUD_UP)
import time

GPIO.wait_for_edge(18, GPIO.RISING)

while True:
    GPIO.output(4, False)
    GPIO.output(17, True)
    GPIO.output(23, True)

if raw_input("1st Scan:") == raw_input("2nd Scan:"):
GPIO.output(23, False)
time.sleep(.3)
GPIO.output(23, True)
        continue

else:
        print("NO MATCH")
GPIO.output(4, True)
GPIO.output(17, False)
GPIO.wait_for_edge(18, GPIO.RISING)
        continue
Thanks,
Eric

AndrewS

Re: barcode string matching

Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:43 pm

ericfmyers wrote:The code that I created is works, it just seems too simple. I don't want it to just work, I want it to be correct. There's got to be like six more pages of code that I'm missing, right?
Heheh http://xkcd.com/353/ :D