User avatar
Aloshi
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Dec 07, 2014 1:44 am

Regarding the first problem, running out of VRAM is the most likely culprit. It depends on how many systems you are using simultaneously.

Regarding the XP issue, try this build: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/281 ... ion_xp.zip

I don't have an XP machine to test with so I have no idea if this fixes the problem. I compiled ES with the Visual Studio v12_xp platform toolset which might solve the problem. If that doesn't work, I might also have to recompile the .dlls.

User avatar
Enverex
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK
Contact: ICQ Website AOL

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Dec 07, 2014 3:55 am

RetroArch works fine on Windows, but I don't seem to be able to load shaders on Linux, I get the message:

Code: Select all

RetroArch [ERROR] :: [GL]: Cannot find shader core for path: (path to shader I tried)
I get this for every shader I try no-matter where the shader is located. Am I missing something simple here?

Toontje
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Dec 07, 2014 11:36 am

Regarding the first problem, running out of VRAM is the most likely culprit. It depends on how many systems you are using simultaneously.
I currently use gpu_mem=256 on my 512Mb Pi.
I don't know what you mean with "systems in use simultaneously". I have roms for 11 machines.

Two things i miss in this version of ES:
- Scraping as background process. So i can play while the Pi is scraping. Probably impossible because of lack of CPU power. Alternative could be to let cron launch a scrape process in the night.
- Reload the ES library without having to reboot the Pi or re-launching ES.

Toontje
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:07 pm

Tried the Windows version on XP again. Now a full XP install. Same issue. Not a valid Win32 application. After the update you sent me i get Application doesn't have the right structure.

User avatar
antiriad
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Twitter

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:28 pm

Hi, I would like some suggestions, if possible, about EmulationStation 2.0 on Raspberry Pi.

Would you suggest EmulationStation 2.0 on a Raspberry Pi connected to a small CRT Tv via composite cable?

It is possible to view, for Sega Genesis and NES, not the covers of the games but some screenshots?

Is EmulationStation 2.0 fluid on Raspy?

Thank you very much.

Toontje
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:42 pm

Yes.
Don't know.
Yes.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:14 am

Hi is it possible i can implement background music in emulationstation1.0? Aloshi can you check your pm please :)
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

ClockworkActual
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:56 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:00 am

I'm having severe problems using the scraping feature. The working icon freezes after a few seconds and it takes 15-45 seconds per game to proceed. I have a feeling something is wrong. I'm using the windows version on a fairly powerful desktop computer. Any idea on how to speed it up? I'm looking at two full day's work to get all the data for all the roms I'm currently using.

User avatar
DigitalLumberjack
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 am
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:21 am

Expandables check https://github.com/digitalLumberjack/Em ... e/sdlmixer

It's for ES2.0, it depends on SDL2_mixer, you can add background music per system.

It will not be ported on ES1. And i think es1 is already obsolete.

Toontje
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:37 am

An official good working scraper solution and a reload ES button, please.

ClockworkActual
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:56 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:39 pm

More bugs to report:

When getting scraper data, then attempting to rename a rom, you can't backspace over the entire name picked from the scraper. You'll enter a name, and half the old name will still be visible after you enter your new name.

Also, data is frequently not saved when exiting the program. I've lost a TON of scraper work multiple times because of this.

regdummy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:37 pm

<< SOLUTION FOR XP "Not a valid Win32 application" ERROR >>

Im no Programmer and have no Visual Studio but i searched around and found a solution :

The Problem is the SubSystemVersion number written in the PE-Header (the optional one)

Look at this site for explenation and solution (for both user and Programmer side) ....

http://www.tripleboot.org/?p=423


/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS,6.00 means WIN Vista and up ... and thats what VS2012 2013 write as default
But we need /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS,5.01

FIX AT COMPILE TIME:

Go to Linker > System. Change Subsystem to "Not Set".
Now go to Linker > Command Line. If it is a Console application, type the text into the Additional Options field:
/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS,"5.01"

or do something similar to this setting in the linker configurations ... as said i have no VS ...

USERS CAN PATCH THE EXE:

Patch exe as described at the first link with HEX-Editor or use PE-Tools (ignore the errors at start if you get one) :
http://sourceforge.net/projects/pe-tools/

- Start PE-Tools
- Go to Tools/PE Editor
- Open emulationstation.exe
- click on Optional Header
- Change Major SubsystemVersion to 05
- Change Minor SubsystemVersion to 01
- Click OK, click OK ... its done

I didnt tried the patched exe very much ... it starts normal and complain about missing Config ...
For me it looks like it works ..


I HOPE IT HELPED .....

Toontje
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:48 am

regdummy wrote:Patch exe as described at the first link with HEX-Editor or use PE-Tools (ignore the errors at start if you get one) :
http://sourceforge.net/projects/pe-tools/
Works!! Good find!

regdummy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:45 am

ClockworkActual wrote:More bugs to report:

When getting scraper data, then attempting to rename a rom, you can't backspace over the entire name picked from the scraper. You'll enter a name, and half the old name will still be visible after you enter your new name.
That happened for me too ...
It seems with backspace you can only backspace the VISIBLE part of the filed .....
WORKAROUND TILL FIXED:
Use the left direction button on controller until you reach the beginning of the name and use delete from this position ...

AJ12Gamer
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:52 am

Can anyone help me with this?

I prefer plugging in my controller after it’s booted up. There’s no need to configure it after plugging it in again. It’s the same controller I’ve been using so I doubt it needs to configured every time. Can someone help me please? How can I disable the “no game pads detected” code in EmulationStation.

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:19 am

Hi Aloshi, any news of EmulationStation 2.1 for the Pi?

ProxyCell
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:49 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:52 pm

Hi,

I am looking for a way to display the full filename (without the .extensions) including the filename contents within brackets.
A file name such as "Cool Game (USA).nes" will CURRENTLY be displayed as "Cool Game"
I am seeking to have it displayed as "Cool Game (USA)"

Is there a way to configure emulationstation to do just this?

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:52 pm

Aloshi can you make the next release to have an option to change the menu from horizontal to vertical and carousel? By Carousel meaning the menu layout of Hyperspin http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

enodr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:41 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:50 pm

Hi,

First congrats for EmulationStation, I really love this frontend. So simple to setup compared to the headache of hyperspin.

Do you prefer that I report bugs / patches / suggestions here or directly on github?

For example some bug report (windows):
- if %ROM% contains spaces they are escaped on the launch command while they should not: emu.exe "my\ game.rom" is invalid under windows and should stay: emu.exe "my game.rom"
- the application eats a full CPU core for no reason. I suspect some missing sleep(10) in a idle loop. I will debug

Suggestions:
- After hitting "save" on the metadata editor, it would be cool to exit automatically the option menu and return to the main UI instead of having to press back. The idea is that if you just "saved" there is little reason to stay in the menu
- in the quit menu; put "quit emulationstation" as the 1st option instead of last. That would prevent reboots if hitting A button too fast :)

Regards

enodr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:41 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:08 am

Hi,

The second after I hit post I found out about %ROM_RAW% and unescaped paths...

Anyway I managed to compile under windows (quite a pain with all the dependencies) and the 100% CPU core problem is exactly what I thought. The rendering loop is not caped to some FPS (for eg 60) so it tries to render as many frames as possible and thus eats all CPU.

Edit: here is a quick patch to limit UI to 60 fps

Code: Select all

		int curTime = SDL_GetTicks();
		int deltaTime = curTime - lastTime;
		if (deltaTime < 1000/60) // cap to 60 fps
		{
			SDL_Delay(1);
			continue;
		}
		//int curTime = SDL_GetTicks();
		//int deltaTime = curTime - lastTime;
		lastTime = curTime;
There could be even a better fix and not even render anything if there is no animation pending but I could not figure an easy fix without breaking animations.

Some more fixes which allows to compile with Visual Studio 2010:
1/ VS2010 does not know about round, so we need to add a custom define:
#include <math.h>
#define round(x) ((x < 0) ? (ceil((x)-0.5)) : (floor((x)+0.5)))

2/ In GuiGamelistOptions.cpp force the return type as bool or else VS2010 will refuse to compile:
row.input_handler = [&](InputConfig* config, Input input) -> bool {

Regards.

User avatar
expandables
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Neverland with Michael Jackson

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:55 pm

DigitalLumberjack wrote:Expandables check https://github.com/digitalLumberjack/Em ... e/sdlmixer

It's for ES2.0, it depends on SDL2_mixer, you can add background music per system.

It will not be ported on ES1. And i think es1 is already obsolete.
DigitalLumberjack check your inbox please.
By thinking like an engineer you can create a raspberry pi.
Michael Jackson enthusiast.
I got the PI model B, B+ and PI 2 model B.
When will I get the A? I don't know.

PLowran
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:10 pm

MAME Scrapper?

Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:13 pm

First Off; I just found this a few weeks ago, I had it running smoothly in about 30 min on a Debian system.
AWESOME JOB!!!
Unfortunately I cannot get the Scrapper working with MAME? All the games will play but I cannot retrieve the Info and Artwork.
All my other systems Running on MESS worked flawlessly with the Scrapper...
Anyone else have this issue?
Thanks
Phil

johnodon
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:37 pm

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:46 pm

Hey guys. First post here. :)

I am loving ES! I am using it in all of my instances of Kodi (KodiBuntu, WIN8 and Arch). I have a quick question...

Call me weird, but I actually like the ES splashscreen. Is there a way to make it display longer? Maybe a cfg file setting somewhere? On my faster machines it opens so fast I don't get to see the splash.

Yeah I know...weird. :)

TIA!

John

astranberg
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 3:34 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Mon May 11, 2015 3:36 am

Where can I download THIS theme? (pictures in OP)

Micha1982
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:18 am

Re: RELEASE: EmulationStation 2.0-RC1

Tue May 12, 2015 4:45 pm

I am going through this tutorial,

at cmake -DCMAKE_CXX_COMPILER=g++-4.7 .

console shows

Code: Select all

EmulationStation $ cmake -DCMAKE_CXX_COMPILER=g++-4.7 .
-- The C compiler identification is GNU 4.6.3
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 4.7.2
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/g++-4.7
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/g++-4.7 -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
Looking for bcm_host.h
bcm_host.h found
Looking for libMali.so
libMali.so not found
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:97 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find Freetype (missing: FREETYPE_INCLUDE_DIRS)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:288 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindFreetype.cmake:106 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:45 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
EmulationStation $
Is it harmful?Still do make - or how do I fix this? Many thanks.
Alles, was schiefgehen kann, wird auch schiefgehen.

Return to “Gaming”