foxt

GPIO cleanup and start-stop-daemon

Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:09 pm

I am new to UNIX and PYTHON, like soe many others brought to it by the mission of RPi. I am experimenting with running a python script as a daemon on boot using start-stop-daemon. I have used google, various other sites, etc to try and learn more about how all of this works so that I can understand my problem, but I am stuck and am hoping that someone can point the way. Being new, I may not know enough to recognize the solution when I see it, or to search for it correctly.

The script uses RPi.GPIO to manage the GPIO inputs and outputs. I have the code set up to run GPIO.cleanup at the end. When I run the script directly in python via the terminal, it runs fine and terminates in a controlled fashion, cleaning up GPIO on its way out. When I run the script as a daemon via start-stop-daemon, it starts ok but it does not gracefully exit when I execute "stop" (never gets to GPIO.cleanup). To illustrate, a simple example (I put the print statements in there to convince myself that it was working the way I thought it should via the terminal).

Code: Select all

#!usr/bin/python

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
from time import sleep

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.OUT)

try:
    while True:
        GPIO.output(27,1)
        sleep(2)
        GPIO.output(27,0)
        sleep(2)

except KeyboardInterrupt:
    print "loop ending"

finally:
    print "cleaning up"
    GPIO.cleanup()