cs2000

Desktop PC Power Control

Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:26 pm

Hey all,

Ive had a Pi since the first batch ever rolled off of the production line, but it generally sits in my cupboard :( Im a Linux noob really and it has given me some great insights but found it generally a pain to use as a desktop OS.

Anyway, I knew one day id need it, and here it is, but I need some help if possible :)

I want to use the GPIO headers to control the power and reset functions on one of my desktop PC's. This is headless and I always remote access it as I've built web based systems to do everything I need to do remotely but occasionally like today it locked up.

I get to work at 9 Am and wanted to access it, I guess something has failed and I cant and im not home for another few hours (I know, first world problems and all...).

I'm thinking I can detach the case buttons as I wont need these, and I can attach the motherboard headers to the GPIO pins on the Pi.

The switches on a case are momentary and are just a + and a - for each button. Obviously id then need to figure out how to create a web page where I can click a button that activates the GPIO's and "pushes" the reset/power buttons, but I have seen examples of this on the web. The part im struggling with is the GPIO section as ive never dealt with these before.

I really want to do this without any extra hardware at all, just a Pi and the necessary connecting wires. Really hope some of the forum experts can lend a hand :)

Thanks in advance for any replies.

pcmanbob

Re: Desktop PC Power Control

Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:38 pm

I don't think you will be able to do this without some extra hardware ( unless some one knows better )
the switches on the front of the pc case are just a simple contact that connects the 2 relevant pins on the mother board you will need to replicate this, the output from the gpio on the Pi are a high or low not a closing contact.