Xfirm

Simplecv + Camera board guide

Wed Oct 09, 2013 5:41 pm

Hello

I have straggled to get the camera board to work with Opencv as I'm an beginner with Linux and the pi. I have got it to work good and I thought I could share it here in case some one else I's straggling with the same thing.

My original goal was to getting it to work with the node-opencv.js module in node but I later found the python simplecv framework. I decide to start with that do there was an good book to start out with. (Practical Computer Vision w. SimpleCV)

I want to do an machine vision system to find parts that should be picked up by an industrial 6-axis robot, another project I want to do is making an home surveillance camera that sends me an mail with an picture if someone is at my door when I'm not home.

I tried some different approach but I found my own way in the end.

So here how I got it to work:

Step 1 - Prepering the SD card
Flashed the SD card with the 2013-09-25-wheezy-raspbian image
http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

Step 2 - Installing the camera board on the pi
Install the camera board by following the instruction on this site http://www.raspberrypi.org/camera
Don't forget to activate the camera in the raspi-config

Step 3 - Insatalling simplecv framework
Followed the instruction on the site linked below how to install the simplecv framework
https://github.com/sightmachine/SimpleC ... erryPi.rst

Now the simplecv framework should be installed and you should be able to open the console window by typing

Code: Select all

simplecv 
in the console.

When you are in the simplecv console you should be able to enter following code and there should be an simplecv logo image saved in your user folder. (You need to be in that folder when starting the simplecv console)

SimpleCV:1> Image("logo").save("Simplecv_logo.jpg")
SimpleCV:1: 1

SimpleCV:2> quit
Write

quit
and hit enter to close simplecv console. If you then write

ls