dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5460
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:22 pm

Also could you try TV with latest start.elf from github.

(https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... /start.elf)

We now only output DMT modes with DVI signalling, so you shouldn't need hdmi_drive=1 anymore.

Others may need hdmi_drive=2 to make audio work with DMT modes though.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5460
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:41 pm

naicheben said:


@dom I have writen down hdm_drive to the wiki. Can you please look if it is ok so.



Some extra info:

hdmi_drive: 1=force DVI, 2=force HDMI (default is negotated with monitor)

hdmi_group: 1=CEA, 2=DMT, 3=CEA_3D (default is negotiated with monitor)

config_hdmi_boost: increase voltage on hdmi (range 0-11)

hdmi_force_hotplug: force HDMI mode even if hotplug not detected

So, suppose you have a HDMI TV that has auto power down, and doesn't assert hotplug when powered down, you may find R-Pi unwantedly boots in composite mode. To get around that:

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

hdmi_group=1

hdmi_mode=4

You can then even boot Pi without cable connected, and should get HDMI output when you plug it in.

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:50 pm

Sorry for the delay replying, work and family getting in the way of Pi time

@rpi_newbie hdmi_group=1 and hdmi_mode=4works but get a awfull crackle on the audio, haven't experimented with any other combinations yet.

@dom New start.elf works straight away on a clean image so you seem to have solved the problem. Haven't had chance to try audio yet, will do next and will test new start.elf on a few monitor/tv's at work if you like.

I assume @rpi_newbie is the HDMI man you were taking about? Thank you very much to you both for your efforts.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5460
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:33 pm

Yes @rpi_newbie is a Broadcom coleague who knows all about HDMI, EDIDs and CEC.

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:52 pm

Simon H said:


Sorry for the delay replying, work and family getting in the way of Pi time

@rpi_newbie hdmi_group=1 and hdmi_mode=4works but get a awfull crackle on the audio, haven't experimented with any other combinations yet.

@dom New start.elf works straight away on a clean image so you seem to have solved the problem. Haven't had chance to try audio yet, will do next and will test new start.elf on a few monitor/tv's at work if you like.

I assume @rpi_newbie is the HDMI man you were taking about? Thank you very much to you both for your efforts.


@Simon

hdmi_group =1 hdmi_mode =4 (DMT VGA 60Hz) which is the same as hdmi_group = 2 and hdmi_mode = 1 has very small blanking periods and so will only support stereo pcm. 32/44.1/48kHz stereo 16-bit pcm "should" work. However, supporting audio in DMT format is not defined [in HDMI spec] so it is not guaranteed to work.

harveyd
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:01 am

I previously had no joy and had same issues as the original poster.

Replacing start.elf from github and removing all options from the config.txt file solved the issue for me and hdmi worked straight away after a reboot.

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:19 am

Glad its not just me!
Welcome to the forum @harveyd

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:56 am

rpi_newbie said:


@Simon, can you try configuring the pi to output one of the CEA formats in HDMI mode?

(Not setting hdmi_drive=1; set hdmi_group=1 and hdmi_mode=4 (720p60) for example).

Driving a DMT format in HDMI mode is not defined in the HDMI spec. Maybe your monitor does not like being driven in DMT format in HDMI mode.



Sorry I meant hdmi_group = 2 hdmi_mode = 4 there (CEA 720p60). Just noticed my typo.

Guest

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:34 am

Hi,

Just another quick confirmation of success.

I had the same problems with my monitor as the OP. The new
start.elf fixed the problem.

Thanks very much.

nimdy
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:32 am

I had some issues with my display earlier. The device would boot, but the TV just said 'no signal'.

I've added these lines to the config.txt:

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

hdmi_mode=16

but now I find that the picture is in the middle with a thick border round each side. My display is an LG M228WD LCD TV connected to the HDMI. Its one of these odd 16:10 tvs, which I think is why it is causing me bother with the Pi. Can anyone help?

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:01 pm

Hi Nimdy,

Can you send us the edid? Use tvservice -d to dump the EDID and post it online. I am working on a front end to my edid parsing code so one can parse the dumped edid directly.

nimdy
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:21 pm

Hi Rpi_newbie, I've downloaded the new version of tvservice from git and done a dump. Hopefully you can retrieve it from this link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5170394/edid.dat

The other commands you mentioned in post 9 just return 'Group CEA has 0 modes:' 'Group DMT has 0 modes:'

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:08 pm

Hi Nimdy,

It's odd that tvservice shows no modes at all. I will take a look at the EDID tomorrow. Just a sanity check: if you remove hdmi_mode from config file (which will let me pick the best mode), does the pi output anything?

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:23 pm

@Nimdy,

According to the manual on LG's site, the native format of the TV is

1680 X 1050 @60 Hz. This is a computer monitor format, not a conventional TV format. Letting the pi choose the best resolution is your best bet.

nimdy
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:36 pm

hi again rpi_newbie. I did remove the hdmi_mode and it seems to have settled on this mode by itself:

state 0x120015, 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive

I've added some overscan settings to the confix.txt which make the output fit the display better, they are:

overscan_left=-40
overscan_right=-40
overscan_top=-40
overscan_bottom=-40

Another thing I wanted to ask is about the colour depth of the HDMI output. It looks like the colour has been stepped down a notch - like on older Windows machines when you changed it from 32bit colour to 16bit. Is this likely to be an issue with the Pi or my TV?

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:42 pm

We currently do not support deep colour. I think the pi is outputing YCbCr instead of RGB. I can check your EDID to see if your TV supports YCbCr. I will discuss with Dom to see if he can add an option for the user to choose YCbCr output if the TV supports it.

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:21 pm

Hi All,

Now my TV is working I bought a adaptor to go to my monitor, I am getting a picture but it is only 1680x1050 @ 60hz when it should be the full 1920x1080 @ 60hz the desktop PC runs fine at 1920x1080 on the monitor so I took it to work and tried it on:

* Identical monitor to mine, same results

* Another 1920x1080 Monitor both DVI-D & HDMI, works fine, tvservice -s reports right resolution without any config.txt mods.

* A 50" 1080p TV Fine, Full 1920x1080.

As seems to be my luck I have a fussy TV and Monitor. The Monitor is a 24" Acer V243H FYI.

I have got the latest start.elf and kernel.img. Monitor is saying no CEA modes but other monitor and TV I tried both showed CEA & DMT modes.

Link to edid dump and -s & -m outputs below

http://hanscombe.co.uk/edid2.zip

[email protected]:~$ ./tvservice -s
state 0x120016, 1680x1050 @ 60Hz, progressive

[email protected]:~$ ./tvservice -m CEA
Group CEA has 0 modes:

[email protected]:~$ ./tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 16 modes:
mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
mode 5: 640x480 @ 72Hz, progressive
mode 6: 640x480 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 8: 800x600 @ 56Hz, progressive
mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz, progressive
mode 10: 800x600 @ 72Hz, progressive
mode 11: 800x600 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz, progressive
mode 17: 1024x768 @ 70Hz, progressive
mode 18: 1024x768 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 21: 1152x864 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 35: 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, progressive
mode 36: 1280x1024 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 47: 1440x900 @ 60Hz, progressive
mode 48: 1440x900 @ 75Hz, progressive
mode 58: 1680x1050 @ 60Hz, progressive

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:51 pm

Did you plug it into a DVI input? It's normal for DVI input to have no CEA modes.

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:08 pm

Yes monitor has DVI-D input.

Other monitor at work that worked has both HDMI & DVI, can't remember if did -m's on that one but showed CEA mode on work TV which makes sense as that is HDMI.

I have been playing with it since and all modes listed in DMT apart from mode 9 that work report 1680x1050 and the text isn't very clear but mode 9 reports 800x600 and is clear.

Thanks Simon

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:59 am

Simon H said:


I have been playing with it since and all modes listed in DMT apart from mode 9 that work report 1680x1050 and the text isn't very clear but mode 9 reports 800x600 and is clear.

Thanks Simon



Hi Simon,

I don't quite understand here. Did you mean you tried every DMT mode tvservice listed but mode 9 (800x600 60Hz) didn't work or 1680x1050 @ 60Hz didn't work? There are two variants of 1680x1050 @ 60Hz (one with standard blanking and the other with reduced blanking and they are different).

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:32 am

nimdy said:


hi again rpi_newbie. I did remove the hdmi_mode and it seems to have settled on this mode by itself:

state 0x120015, 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive

I've added some overscan settings to the confix.txt which make the output fit the display better, they are:

overscan_left=-40
overscan_right=-40
overscan_top=-40
overscan_bottom=-40

Another thing I wanted to ask is about the colour depth of the HDMI output. It looks like the colour has been stepped down a notch - like on older Windows machines when you changed it from 32bit colour to 16bit. Is this likely to be an issue with the Pi or my TV?



@Nimdy

The EDID you posted has [email protected] 60Hz (reduced blanking & standard blanking) DMT mode 57 and 58 as first and second preferred mode respectively. I expect the pi to output 1680x1050 60Hz reduced blanking by default, unless you have set a pixel clock filter < 119 MHz.

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:35 am

Sorry I wasn't very clear, was late night.

Mode 9 800x600 gives a nice sharp image although low res, clear Raspberry Logo etc.

All other modes text and logo weren't sharp, some had fuzziness around the characters or bands across the background (To do with refresh rate I guess) or monitor would say no signal, sorry didn't write down individual results for each mode.

Other monitors at work give nice sharp 1920x1080 image, just this particular model that had trouble with, would have like to try every monitor in the place but boss might get a bit funny

Tried different HDMI, DVI leads and adaptors to eliminate that.

PC's both at work and home drives this monitor at 1920x1080 @ 60 with sharp image.

rpi_newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 am

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:00 am

Simon H said:


As seems to be my luck I have a fussy TV and Monitor. The Monitor is a 24" Acer V243H FYI.

I have got the latest start.elf and kernel.img. Monitor is saying no CEA modes but other monitor and TV I tried both showed CEA & DMT modes.

Link to edid dump and -s & -m outputs below

http://hanscombe.co.uk/edid2.zip

The preferred resolution in the EDID is unrecognised. It has the wrong timing for any known 1920x1080 formats. [email protected] should be supported. (The latest image should have a default filter of 162MHz which allows [email protected] to be driven.)


dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5460
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:23 am

The default framebuffer is 16-bit (software controlled) so don"t worry about banding.
Try /opt/vc/src/hello_pi/hello_video (make and then ./hello_video test.h264) to see it being driven in a full colour mode.

I think we need to understand how fuzzy the image is. Is it just a slight blurring caused by a resize, or isn"t something more blatant? Can you post a photo?

Simon H
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: No HDMI output Composite OK

Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:50 am

rpi_newbie said:


The preferred resolution in the EDID is unrecognised. It has the wrong timing for any known 1920x1080 formats. [email protected] should be supported. (The latest image should have a default filter of 162MHz which allows [email protected] to be driven.)


I got the latest start.elf & kernel.img last night but didn't get a 1600x1200 option, can override it I guess. Won't the aspect ratio be out for the monitor then? stretched text etc? 1600x1200 isn't a option in Win XP settings!

Yes noticed on other monitor & tv there was a preferred image column in tvservice but not on this one.

@ Dom Will try the hello_video when I get home later if that was aimed at me. Will try all modes and take some pics.

It isn't the end of the world but would have liked to get the full resolution out of it for media playing in the future and getting a new monitor isn't an option. I am intending to use it for development of I2C and and general I/O stuff under c to start with as I am into home automation anyway so res isn't a problem.

Return to “Troubleshooting”