davorin
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact: Website

Force 800x600 [solved]

Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:17 pm

Good afternoon (o;

I try to bring some light on a 800x600 display with a HDMI2RGB converter...

As from the Wiki the settings in config.txt should be:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=9
Rebooting then and do a "/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -s" shows still:

Code: Select all

state 0x120016 [DVI  RGB lim 16:9], 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive
Is this the correct behavior?
Last edited by davorin on Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5227
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Force 800x600

Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:51 pm

davorin wrote:Good afternoon (o;

I try to bring some light on a 800x600 display with a HDMI2RGB converter...

As from the Wiki the settings in config.txt should be:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=9
Rebooting then and do a "/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -s" shows still:

Code: Select all

state 0x120016 [DVI  RGB lim 16:9], 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive
Is this the correct behavior?
Yes, if your monitor's edid reports that 800x600 is not a valid mode. Try also adding:
hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080

davorin
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact: Website

Re: Force 800x600

Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:05 pm

Yes, that line definitively helped:

Code: Select all

 hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
The rest was some crappy FPC50 connector (o;

Now for the final design of the HDMI2RGB converter (o;

Image

davorin
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact: Website

Re: Force 800x600 [solved]

Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:54 am

Just have here a Chinese 8" HDMI screen with touchscreen, which totally ignores above lines...

Any other ideas to force it to 800x600?

It always defaults to [email protected]

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5227
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Force 800x600 [solved]

Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:16 am

davorin wrote:Just have here a Chinese 8" HDMI screen with touchscreen, which totally ignores above lines...

Any other ideas to force it to 800x600?

It always defaults to [email protected]
The display can't force the pi to output 1280x720. It sounds like there's a problem with config.txt file.

What does:

Code: Select all

vcgencmd get_config int
tvservice -s
report?

davorin
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact: Website

Re: Force 800x600 [solved]

Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:49 pm

vcgencmd get_config int:

Code: Select all

arm_freq=800
hdmi_mode=9
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
temp_limit=85
force_pwm_open=1
tvservice -s:

Code: Select all

state 0x120016 [DVI CEA (4) RGB lim 16:9], 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive
Sorry for late response...was testing another HDMI touchscreen monitor with 800x480 meanwhile ;-)

Return to “Troubleshooting”