How to wire a Raspberry Pi to a Sainsmart 5v Relay Board

61 posts   Page 1 of 3   1, 2, 3
by mchlwllmthms » Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:23 pm
Okay, I tore my hair out trying to get this information for myself. Now that I've got it figured out, I thought I would share a diagram I made of my setup and some other information in hopes that it may help someone else get it sorted out. Again, this is a diagram of how I have wired up my Raspberry Pi (Model B, Rev 2.0) to a Sainsmart 8-channel 5V Relay Board. This project was specifically done for controlling my sprinkler zones which require 24V.

I'm keeping this post updated to reflect some changes I've made based on the comments posted by other users below. Last update: March 07, 2013

Diagram:

Diagram (pdf):
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B5-HND9HJkXWSTQtYlFTZ3VyODA/edit?usp=sharing

I’m not going to cover the software/programming side of things because I am a Linux/Python/Bash newb, and I will leave that to others more qualified. I am also still experimenting with different methods to find what works best for me. This write-up also assumes that you possess a little basic electronics knowledge (like how to solder, etc).

Although I do have a dusty degree in EET, it’s been 15 years since I’ve done anything like this, so If anyone spots some egregious errors on my part, please correct me.

What you’ll need/What I used:

Things to note:

• The diagram only shows 4 GPIO pins connected to the relay module... that’s just because I am only using 4... connecting additional pins/relays would work exactly the same way.