agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:37 am

I have tried logging in many times, all succesful, however today when trying to logon to Debian the default login codes didn't work - username: pi password: raspberry.

So then tried I tried username: root and it worked the only thing is... I don't know what the password is...
BTW Ive tried root password: root

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:24 pm

might be root and password or passwd. ;)

Just a guess there.
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

User avatar
rurwin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4205
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:13 pm

Have you just installed tightVNC?

Try connecting with SSH.

You can't login with root -- its password is disabled.

pjc123
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:18 pm

keyboard "Caps Lock" on?
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
http://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:46 pm

pjc123 wrote:keyboard "Caps Lock" on?
checked that...

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:46 pm

rurwin wrote:Have you just installed tightVNC?

Try connecting with SSH.

You can't login with root -- its password is disabled.

just installed pi store. apart from that nothing has been installed

pjc123
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:05 pm

Well certainly logins and passwords don't magically change by themselves unless you purposely change them or mess around with the passwd, shadow or other authentication files, or the keyboard config routines. Maybe you have a corrupt file system. Another possibility is a defective keyboard, or a wireless keyboard with "sticky keys" that is starting to act up more than usual.
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
http://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:18 pm

If for whatever reason you have been unable to login then I have to assume you pulled the power to shut down for restart that first time may have corrupted your SD Card data.

If you are able to run headless with ssh that would take the concept of a corrupted SD out of contention. ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

User avatar
tonyhughes
Posts: 950
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:46 am

Re: Logging in...

Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:23 pm

Your first post shows a period after the password, I know its probably just the end of your sentence, but it has to be asked....

Are you specifically runnning Raspbian? Or soft-float Debian Wheezy?

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:44 pm

tonyhughes wrote:Your first post shows a period after the password, I know its probably just the end of your sentence, but it has to be asked....

Are you specifically runnning Raspbian? Or soft-float Debian Wheezy?
its just end of sentence and I am running soft-float Debian

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:46 pm

pjc123 wrote:Well certainly logins and passwords don't magically change by themselves unless you purposely change them or mess around with the passwd, shadow or other authentication files, or the keyboard config routines. Maybe you have a corrupt file system. Another possibility is a defective keyboard, or a wireless keyboard with "sticky keys" that is starting to act up more than usual.
no, it has been working properly for the last month and whenever I type in "pi" it shows "pi".

User avatar
tonyhughes
Posts: 950
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:46 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:19 pm

Is this still an issue for you?

I know most will be reading this thread thinking you have changed your password, and are simply typing in the wrong sequence of keys (happens to all of us sometimes), but it's entirely possible you have a different cause as well.

Unfortunately, if you don't have a second working account with sudo, you might be stuck, with a reinstall being your only real option.

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:29 pm

this could be a last resort however I will wait just a few more days as ideas keep popping in.
Great advice

pjc123
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:34 pm

Well, you could

1) Reload the image if you don't care about losing the changes that you made.

Or assuming there isn't a major corruption of the card and you just need to change the password:

2) Read the SD card after starting a Linux live CD, like from Ubuntu for example, and edit the passwd and or shadow files.

3) Or try this trick that I see posted a bunch of times on this forum:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3//view ... 47&t=20397

After you are done, so you have another way in, set a password for root. Also, start making backups on a regular basis because a forgotten/corrupted password isn't the only thing that can bite you.
Last edited by pjc123 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
http://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:42 pm

I will try this

agsaggarwal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Logging in...

Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:17 pm

It now works. All I did was move the cmdline.txt file to desktop and took it out of computer, Put it back in and moved it back.

Anyway thanks for all of your posts, I really appreciated it.

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], FTrevorGowen, Killjoy99, MaxK1, mikerr and 53 guests