ghans
Posts: 7857
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Signalex USB hub possibly containing malware?!

Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:30 am

I guess the keypress insertion issue is still current , but simply
not relevant on the Pi (it does nothing in LXDE AFAIK).
It is still creepy IMHO but can be simply explained as code left
from demo purposes.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

RPickers
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Signalex USB hub possibly containing malware?!

Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:46 pm

Thanks for the reply. If its fine on the pi I'll give the board modding a go - unfortunately the d+ connection has broken (track peeled off) and I can't find space to break back into the pcb before the track reaches the black dome (don't know the name - sorry!) So I'll pop back to poundland to get another.

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Signalex USB hub possibly containing malware?!

Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:56 am

Just spotted this thread... wow! :shock:

I also bought one of these poundland USB hubs last year (just to see if something so cheap actually worked!), and it looks identical to the other photos, but appears I got one with the 'regular' firmware, rather than the 'strange keyboard' firmware. It has VID/PID of 0a05:7211 (which is actually listed in http://www.linux-usb.org/usb.ids ) and lsusb -v reports

Code: Select all

Bus 002 Device 005: ID 0a05:7211  
Couldn't open device, some information will be missing
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               2.00
  bDeviceClass            9 Hub
  bDeviceSubClass         0 Unused
  bDeviceProtocol         0 Full speed (or root) hub
  bMaxPacketSize0         8
  idVendor           0x0a05 
  idProduct          0x7211 
  bcdDevice            1.00
  iManufacturer           0 
  iProduct                1 
  iSerial                 0 
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor:
    bLength                 9
    bDescriptorType         2
    wTotalLength           25
    bNumInterfaces          1
    bConfigurationValue     1
    iConfiguration          0 
    bmAttributes         0xe0
      Self Powered
      Remote Wakeup
    MaxPower              100mA
    Interface Descriptor:
      bLength                 9
      bDescriptorType         4
      bInterfaceNumber        0
      bAlternateSetting       0
      bNumEndpoints           1
      bInterfaceClass         9 Hub
      bInterfaceSubClass      0 Unused
      bInterfaceProtocol      0 Full speed (or root) hub
      iInterface              0 
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x81  EP 1 IN
        bmAttributes            3
          Transfer Type            Interrupt
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0001  1x 1 bytes
        bInterval             255
Maybe there's "good batches" and "bad batches" and I was just lucky to get one from the good batch? ;) :?

User avatar
Cancelor
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: Signalex USB hub possibly containing malware?!

Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:10 pm

It could be a keystroke logger. It could be a character injector. What you can see today might just be the tip of an iceberg.

It might be capable of all sorts of attacks. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nhWV6kRdro

Not to do with USB hubs but here is another example of what is possible. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuX_ElPhWHs
Can't find the thread you want? Try googling : YourSearchHere site:raspberrypi.org

emerson_t1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 7:04 am

Re: Signalex USB hub possibly containing malware?!

Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:03 am

I bought one of these -6 Monte ago, no browser issue, but the cable broke. I'm looking at them three power slots longingly. But what is the Ec1 and Y1 for?

Return to “General discussion”