brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 9:49 am

I just bought a new tv (Sony Bravia KD-55XF9005) which I want to use with my pi 4b. The pi4 worked on my old Sony tv (with some changes to /boot/config.txt), but I get "no signal" on the new tv, no matter what I try. My old pi 3b, works fine on the new tv, so I don't think the tv is the problem.

If I do not include this line, hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080, in config.txt, the tv does not see the pi at all and the pi does not see the tv. There seems to be absolutely no communication between the devices. If I do include the line, hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080, the pi will power on the tv, switch to the right hdmi input, and the on screen overlay says "raspberry". However, there is no signal (i.e., blank screen). The pi also sees the tv, listing 1 attached hdmi device (although tvservice -n says device_name=SAM-SyncMaster) . Nothing I do, however, gives me output on the tv. I must have tried a hundred combinations of parameter settings in config.txt and nothing gives a signal.

From googling the problem it seems that many people have issues with the pi 4 and hdmi output. Is it a lost cause trying to get the pi 4 to work with tv screens or are these issues being solved?
Last edited by brinch on Fri Jun 12, 2020 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kushan
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:49 pm

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 11:07 am

I'm having the same issue as yourself: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=276792&e=1&view=unread#unread

I wish I could offer more insight as to what's going on.

rpi4.local
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:20 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:52 pm

brinch wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 9:49 am
I just bought a new tv (Sony Bravia KD-55XF9005) which I want to use with my pi 4b. The pi4 worked on my old Sony tv (with some changes to /boot/config.txt), but I get "no signal" on the new tv, no matter what I try. My old pi 3b, works fine on the new tv, so I don't think the tv is the problem.

If I do not include this line, hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080, in config.txt, the tv does not see the pi at all and the pi does not see the tv. There seems to be absolutely no communication between the devices. If I do include the line, hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080, the pi will power on the tv, switch to the right hdmi input, and the on screen overlay says "raspberry". However, there is no signal (i.e., blank screen). The pi also sees the tv, listing 1 attached hdmi device (although tvservice -n says device_name=SAM-SyncMaster) . Nothing I do, however, gives me output on the tv. I must have tried a hundred combinations of parameter settings in config.txt and nothing gives a signal.

From googling the problem it seems that many people have issues with the pi 4 and hdmi output. Is it a lost cause trying to get the pi 4 to work with tv screens or are these issues being solved?
Have you tried different resolutions, say 720p, 1080p and 4K?
Have you tried using different cables?
Have you tried another mini HDMI or micro or whatever the Pi 4 uses to full size HDMI?

And, for fun and giggles, have you tried using another OS like Ubuntu instead of Pi OS? (https://ubuntu-mate.org/raspberry-pi/) as linked here on Raspberrypi.org/Downloads

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 5:57 pm

rpi4.local wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:52 pm
Have you tried different resolutions, say 720p, 1080p and 4K?
Have you tried using different cables?
Have you tried another mini HDMI or micro or whatever the Pi 4 uses to full size HDMI?

And, for fun and giggles, have you tried using another OS like Ubuntu instead of Pi OS? (https://ubuntu-mate.org/raspberry-pi/) as linked here on Raspberrypi.org/Downloads
I am not sure what you mean by different resolutions. Do you mean the different modes available through tvservice -m? In that case, yes, I have tried them all. If you mean setting the tv to specific resolutions, then I am not really sure if that is possible.

The cable works fine when I plug the pi into my old tv. Also it is the original cable that came with the pi. Surely that should be of adequate quality to drive a tv?

I have not tried a different OS. That might work, but since I use my pi for retropie, it is not a real solution for me.

drgeoff
Posts: 10627
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:31 pm

You are using the micro-HDMI socket nearest the USB-C power socket?

rpi4.local
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:20 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:35 pm

brinch wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 5:57 pm
rpi4.local wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:52 pm
Have you tried different resolutions, say 720p, 1080p and 4K?
Have you tried using different cables?
Have you tried another mini HDMI or micro or whatever the Pi 4 uses to full size HDMI?

And, for fun and giggles, have you tried using another OS like Ubuntu instead of Pi OS? (https://ubuntu-mate.org/raspberry-pi/) as linked here on Raspberrypi.org/Downloads
I am not sure what you mean by different resolutions. Do you mean the different modes available through tvservice -m? In that case, yes, I have tried them all. If you mean setting the tv to specific resolutions, then I am not really sure if that is possible.

The cable works fine when I plug the pi into my old tv. Also it is the original cable that came with the pi. Surely that should be of adequate quality to drive a tv?

I have not tried a different OS. That might work, but since I use my pi for retropie, it is not a real solution for me.
Of course you can't change the resolution your TV/screen operates at, I'm writing about the source resolution, the output of your Raspberry Pi. But you've already tried it, so we can forget about that.

Even though we should assume the original Pi cable is of decent quality, you should try another cable. I can make no guarantees here, of course. But trying a different cable is never a bad idea in all tech stuff.

So you want to use Retropie, yes, of course. But we have to figure out if you have a problem with your hdmi cable or your Raspberry. You should really etch a Ubuntu or whatever image to a microSD and then check, if your Pi works with your TV. If that works, it's a Retropie issue.

What I'm trying to accomplish here is to determine, if your hardware works alright. If your hardware is fine, we might focus on the eventual software problem.

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:45 pm

drgeoff wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:31 pm
You are using the micro-HDMI socket nearest the USB-C power socket?
yes

User avatar
mooblie
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:07 pm
Location: The Scottish Highlands

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:57 pm

I would suggest getting a new SD card (not expensive, and it will always be useful in the future) and burning a new virgin copy of Raspberry PiOS onto it, and trying that.

Get the hardware going first, and once that's OK, THEN swap back to your original SD card, and investigate the configuration issues you are having there.

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:06 am

So, I tried a new cable. It's the same; works on the old Sony TV, does not work on the new Sony TV.

I tried a new SD card with the latest Ubuntu image. It works out of the box on the old TV. No signal on the new TV.

And it is not the HDMI port on the TV: my old Raspberry pi 3 works just fine on the new TV.

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:12 am

With your Pi3 connected to the new TV, what does ‘tvservice -s’ return?

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:24 am

rpiMike wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:12 am
With your Pi3 connected to the new TV, what does ‘tvservice -s’ return?
state 0x12000a [HDMI CEA (31) RGB lim 16:9], 1920x1080 @ 50.00Hz, progressive

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:32 am

If you add the following to /boot/config.txt to force that mode:

hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=31

What happens with the Pi4?

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... t/video.md

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:35 am

Huh, I just tried to turn on the pi4 connected to the tv without an SD card inserted. This gives me an image on the screen (the pi boot loader).

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:21 am

Did the group and mode make a difference?

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:23 am

So, I am almost about to cry! After having turned on the pi without the SD card and getting the boot loader screen on, I plugged in my raspbian SD card and rebooted. Now I have the image on the screen; the full boot sequence as well as the emulation station. I have no idea what's going on...

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:24 am

What does 'tvservice -s' return on the Pi4?

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:32 am

state 0x6 [DVI CUSTOM RGB full 4:3], 640x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive

and after tvservice -p

state 0xa [HDMI DMT (4) RGB full 4:3], 640x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:37 am

Why is it now 640x480? Have you tried the group and mode settings?

Edit: Are you using Retropie or something?

brinch
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:27 am

Re: PI4 no signal on new Sony tv

Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:42 am

No, it's a raspbian image. I can switch between modes now. It seems to work normally. I swear to god, I did not do anything but boot without an SD and then plug the SD back in. It is super weird!

Return to “Troubleshooting”