Skilowi
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 8:17 pm
Location: Poland

Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 1:29 pm

Hello
Is possible to run Fallout 2 on RPi 4B?

Kendek
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:39 pm
Location: Kaposvár, Hungary

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 1:45 pm

Skilowi wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 1:29 pm
Hello
Is possible to run Fallout 2 on RPi 4B?
l highly doubt it. This is a Windows and x86 only game.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 23096
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 2:07 pm

Skilowi wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 1:29 pm
Hello
Is possible to run Fallout 2 on RPi 4B?

https://gamesystemrequirements.com/game/fallout-2

Maybe or maybe not it will work in BOX86:

viewtopic.php?t=235052
Rather than negativity think outside the box !
RPi 4B 4GB (SSD Boot)..
Asus ChromeBox 3 Celeron is my other computer...

User avatar
thagrol
Posts: 2951
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:41 pm
Location: Darkest Somerset, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 2:25 pm

DOSBox? Or another emulator. Performance might not be great though. The retropie guys might know.
Attempts to contact me outside of these forums will be ignored unless signed in triplicate, sent in, sent back, queried, lost, found, subjected to public enquiry, lost again, and finally buried in soft peat for three months and recycled as firelighters

Skilowi
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 8:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 3:14 pm

okay
What about first Fallout?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 23096
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 3:17 pm

Skilowi wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 3:14 pm
okay
What about first Fallout?

Google Search not working ?

Fallout is a game for Windows so same answer as above.

https://www.sockscap64.com/can-i-run-th ... uirements/
Rather than negativity think outside the box !
RPi 4B 4GB (SSD Boot)..
Asus ChromeBox 3 Celeron is my other computer...

Phoenixbyrd
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:12 pm

Re: Fallout

Sun May 17, 2020 9:54 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 2:07 pm
Skilowi wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 1:29 pm
Hello
Is possible to run Fallout 2 on RPi 4B?

https://gamesystemrequirements.com/game/fallout-2

Maybe or maybe not it will work in BOX86:

viewtopic.php?t=235052
Box86 only works with x86 linux binaries, there is no wine support yet.

bfready
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: Fallout

Mon May 18, 2020 12:08 am

You can use DOSBOX for Fallout. I'm not sure where/how you get the DOS version of Fallout, but apparently it came with both Windows and DOS versions when it was sold on CD..

Here is a Youtube video of Fallout playing on the RPI4:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TrglVVA-d5M&t=1105s

Moonmarch
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:34 am

Re: Fallout

Fri May 22, 2020 9:47 pm

If you purchased the Good Old Games version of Fallout 1997, the Fallout game data does not include the DOS executable. This means you can't use DOSBox with the GOG version of Fallout 1997 out of the box. You still need to install Fallout 1997 on a Windows computer to copy the data files to a external storage drive, you know a USB drive. After searching the internet for many hours, even leading towards the corruption of the operating system on my RPI computer. I will conclude that Fallout 1997 does run on DOSBox, you need to patch the game yourself. The Fallout Official v1.1 Patch (DOS) will include the DOS executable you can use with DOSBox. Here is a link to a guide that will show you how to add the DOS executable to Fallout 1997:

How to run Fallout in DOSBox - Abandonia
http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=26128

You can find the dos4gw.exe, hmidet.386 , and hmidrv.386 files in other DOS games. Copy these files into the Fallout directory. Fallout runs very slow on the RPI3B+, the game is completely playable. I used a version of DOSBox that I compiled myself.

User avatar
7F20
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Fallout

Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:50 am

There is a way to patch the windows version of Fallout to work in Dos. Do a search for it, I know it's out there because that's what I use on my PC with dosbox.

User avatar
thagrol
Posts: 2951
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:41 pm
Location: Darkest Somerset, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Fallout

Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:09 pm

7F20 wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:50 am
There is a way to patch the windows version of Fallout to work in Dos. Do a search for it, I know it's out there because that's what I use on my PC with dosbox.
You mean as linked by the post above yours?
Attempts to contact me outside of these forums will be ignored unless signed in triplicate, sent in, sent back, queried, lost, found, subjected to public enquiry, lost again, and finally buried in soft peat for three months and recycled as firelighters

User avatar
7F20
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Fallout

Thu Jun 25, 2020 11:25 pm

thagrol wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:09 pm
You mean as linked by the post above yours?
yes. that's it. i read the first line of that post "If you purchased the Good Old Games version of Fallout 1997, the Fallout game data does not include the DOS executable." and assumed he was saying it couldn't be done. i usually am better about reading posts; i guess i was just tired/being lazy. my apologies.

BenjaminJannick
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 9:38 am
Contact: Website

Re: Fallout

Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:04 am

Cannot run it as i have tried.

Return to “Gaming”