Mega_Squid

Audio through HDMI

Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:54 am

Hi all I am a noob obviously and I'm having trouble getting audio to play through the HDMI instead of the audio jack. How do I change it so it will play through the HDMI on my TV? I like to use mocp in order to play music files off my thumb drive, but it will only play through the audio jack and the sound quality is horrible.

Ps: I did use the search bar just haven't been able to find anything :/ If i missed a topic could you please direct me to it?

Liuqahs15

Re: Audio through HDMI

Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

I'm in the same boat my friend : (

Unfortunately, as of now it seems that most people (even the foundation) advise that you do a search through google rather than the site search bar. Here's the only topic I've found to be useful:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=5062

But just barely, unfortunately. I've gotten audio through analog on my headphones, but I can't hear anything through HDMI no matter what monitor I plug it into. I'll come back with an update if I find a solution

malakai

Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:32 am

Here's some steps

How To – Configure Sound

edit config.txt
sudo nano /boot/config.txt
Uncomment # hdmi_drive=2

# Force the monitor to HDMI mode so that sound will be sent over HDMI cable
hdmi_drive=2

The rest is just an fyi

To get sound out the headphone jack type:

sudo modprobe snd_bcm2835
sudo amixer cset numid=3 1

To get sound out the HDMI

sudo amixer cset numid=3 0

Trouble with omxplayer

set the -o output for 3.5 audio jack

omxplayer -o local

set the -o output for hdmi

omxplayer -o hdmi
http://www.raspians.com - always looking for content feel free to ask to have it posted. Or sign up and message me to become a contributor to the site. Raspians is not affiliated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation. (RPi's + You = Raspians)

Jim JKla

Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:08 am