blee0518
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:18 am

Raspbian desktop, change network indicator source service

Fri Mar 27, 2020 5:13 am

So I am looking to change the network indicator in Raspbian buster to recognize dnsmasq for dhcp.

In a nutshell
I am disabling `dhcpcp` and running with systemd-networkd and dnsmasq.
When i do this, the indicator in the desktop environment shows no network. This is a bit annoying. sure i could take it off but its kind of convenient to just hover and see my network addresses.

My network config is good and all are working correctly.


Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 37763
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Raspbian desktop, change network indicator source service

Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:27 am

Why are you bothering the dhcpcd stuff just works changing it is pointless?
What's your question?
What's your problem?

BTW, DO NOT cross post, that is prohibited on this forum.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

epoch1970
Posts: 4512
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:33 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Raspbian desktop, change network indicator source service

Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:22 am

If you really want to take the bait hook, line and sinker, you can also remove dnsmasq.
systemd provides a DNS cache resolver by now. Joy.
"S'il n'y a pas de solution, c'est qu'il n'y a pas de problème." Les Shadoks, J. Rouxel

blee0518
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:18 am

Re: Raspbian desktop, change network indicator source service

Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:41 pm

epoch1970 wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:22 am
If you really want to take the bait hook, line and sinker, you can also remove dnsmasq.
systemd provides a DNS cache resolver by now. Joy.
yes, they do. I might explore that option but it seems a bit more robust than I need. dnsmasq keeps the table lean and cache down. from my research seems a bit quit quicker.

Return to “Advanced users”