jhihn
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:31 am

Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Thu Feb 27, 2020 9:25 pm

I have a Acer K202HQL which is 1366x786@60hz

When I select this in Screen Configuration it does not work, it reverts to 1280x720.

I've modified the config.txt, and specified hdmi_mode=81
hdmi_group=2

Someone also on the forum also had issue with this...

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 29330
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:27 am

We are currently looking into this, have just ordered one of these monitors for testing.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Working in the Applications Team.

jhihn
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:31 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:40 pm

So it looks like Acer has a couple part numbers for this. https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/m ... .IX2AA.A05
Is the one I have.
Allegedly, there is a version with a 1600xYYY resolution too. When you do post a result, please include the part number from the label

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 29330
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:44 pm

jhihn wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:40 pm
So it looks like Acer has a couple part numbers for this. https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/m ... .IX2AA.A05
Is the one I have.
Allegedly, there is a version with a 1600xYYY resolution too. When you do post a result, please include the part number from the label
We've had trouble sourcing any devices with that resolution - all out of stock at places in the UK, so are currently getting one imported from one of our distributors outside of Europe. Might be a while.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Working in the Applications Team.

jhihn
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:31 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:06 pm

Dang, I have Amazon Prime next day here :-(

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 29330
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:22 pm

jhihn wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:06 pm
Dang, I have Amazon Prime next day here :-(
So do we, but it doesn't have any 1366x768 devices (that we have been able to find). It's an old and mostly discontinued size, usually used in laptops. I suspect its might be more common in other countries where 720p might be more common.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Working in the Applications Team.

User avatar
kerry_s
Posts: 2277
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:14 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:51 pm

here's my config.txt settings to make it work at 1360x768@60hz for now, it's close enough it looks right.

Code: Select all

framebuffer_width=1360
framebuffer_height=768
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=39
you might have to boot into hdmi safe mode first, cause it needs to be selected in the gui to.

User avatar
kerry_s
Posts: 2277
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:14 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:29 pm

just letting you know, this also works in the config.txt.

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_cvt=1366 768 60
hdmi_mode=87

jhihn
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:31 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:49 pm

Thank you! This has improved the display quality, but I still have large black borders around the image. I don't know if it's just that way, but the product images from Acer don't show it (though they may be photoshopped)
https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/m ... .IX2SM.A02

User avatar
kerry_s
Posts: 2277
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:14 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Fri Mar 13, 2020 4:53 pm

disable overscan in the preferences.

ezy_rider
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:39 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Fri Mar 13, 2020 5:36 pm

My monitor has the same resolution (1366x768 60 hz NTSC). I adjusted the config.txt file as follows

disable_overscan=1
overscan_left=30
overscan_right=30
overscan_top=20
overscan_bottom=20

hdmi_mode=16
hdmi_drive=2

Works well for me..

jhihn
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:31 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:01 pm

Had best results with
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt=1366 768 60 3 0 0 1

BoouM
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:12 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:29 pm

Any progress on this issue ?
I also have a television working on 1366x768@60Hz and there is no picture when hdmi_mode=81 and hdmi_drive=2
When setting hdmi_drive=1 it's working just fine at the right resolution, but then no sound as it's DVI.

I used the workaround with mode=87 and then resolution is detected as 1360x768@60hz which is fine, but still a bit strange

jsnathan
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 3:56 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Tue Jul 14, 2020 10:13 am

I have tried the following it worked

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=86

prak_s
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:21 am

Thanks jhihn, I tried your suggestion and it worked like a charm for me.

SiD7133
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 6:08 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Mon Aug 17, 2020 7:43 am

It was fine when i flashed the '2020-05-27-raspios-buster-armhf' on my pi 4. Problem started occurring after update.

Code: Select all

sudo apt full-upgrade 
and after rebooting got the error like 'Input signal Out of range' in my VGA monitor (am using a HDMI-VGA adapter)

Had to set the config file to

framebuffer_width=1366
framebuffer_height=768
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=82

to solve the issue , but the display seems to be stretched which was not the case before update.

ober
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:24 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Tue Aug 18, 2020 10:08 pm

Well, I have the same model of Acer monitor with 1366x768 and I have failed to make it display at all. Not even the rainbow screen during the boot and the desktop. So basically I need to edit the config.txt from the microSD from another computer.

For my case, if I use the May 2020 version of Raspberry Pi OS, there is still no display. I need to use a micro HDMI to VGA adapter and use VGA cable for the monitor, or connect the Raspberry Pi 4B to another monitor with different resolution and update the Raspberry Pi OS with

sudo apt update
sudo apt full-upgrade

This solves my problems :) I am still getting 1280x720, though.

BTW, I refer to this video earlier: https://youtu.be/S4Qn_mzdmrs.
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies, Malaysia
Simplifying Digital Making

sudhiruu
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:17 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:32 am

I have tried everything described here. Still, the monitor displays "no signal input".
i have been using Debian (64 bit structure) for five years. I am a beginner on Raspberry pi.
I bought Raspberry pi 4 (8 GB) kit yesterday and an HDMI to VGA converter. I have tried to connect my monitor but could not.
I have HCL lcd monitor 1366*768 60 Hz vga1. I have edited congig,txt many times with hundreds of combinations described here. Could anyone find a solution?

RedMarsBlueMoon
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:49 am

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:07 am

I just wanted to chime in to say that this one worked for me too.
jhihn wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:01 pm
Had best results with
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt=1366 768 60 3 0 0 1

pidd
Posts: 2508
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:29 pm
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:40 am

sudhiruu wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:32 am
I have tried everything described here. Still, the monitor displays "no signal input".
i have been using Debian (64 bit structure) for five years. I am a beginner on Raspberry pi.
I bought Raspberry pi 4 (8 GB) kit yesterday and an HDMI to VGA converter. I have tried to connect my monitor but could not.
I have HCL lcd monitor 1366*768 60 Hz vga1. I have edited congig,txt many times with hundreds of combinations described here. Could anyone find a solution?
Some HDMI to VGA converters require too much current from the HDMI socket. What model is it?

LTolledo
Posts: 5805
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am
Location: Anime Heartland

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:57 am

forcing a resolution to 1360 x 768 worked for me
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11628
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:38 am

Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

Deadweasel
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2020 3:16 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Tue Nov 10, 2020 3:20 pm

kerry_s wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:29 pm
just letting you know, this also works in the config.txt.

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_cvt=1366 768 60
hdmi_mode=87
Confirming this works like a charm for RPi4 and Asus VT168 touch display, which despite the explicit size declaration is still only 1360x768, but working precisely as hoped-for.
This info is also posted at https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... i4-hdmi.md

This community rocks; I've been struggling with this issue since I first got the RPi4, and I was concerned there was some kind of irreversible hardware bug. :D

ON5MF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Sat Nov 14, 2020 8:11 pm

It's a pity this problem still exists in the Pi400 also.

Swap_File
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Rpi 4 not working at 1366x768

Thu May 06, 2021 12:03 am

On my older install of raspbian 1366x768 works great, if I run apt get upgrade, it breaks my monitor's native resolution.

Working:

Code: Select all

sudo /opt/vc/bin/vcgencmd version
May 11 2020 19:00:52
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 21bfdeee3a6ea823e2113b983390acd1eec8edfb (clean) (release) (start_x)
 tvservice -m DMT -v 2
Group DMT has 4 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:40MHz progressive
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:65MHz progressive
  (prefer) mode 81: 1366x768 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:85MHz progressive
After sudo apt update:

Code: Select all

sudo /opt/vc/bin/vcgencmd version
Feb 25 2021 12:11:39
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 564e5f9b852b23a330b1764bcf0b2d022a20afd0 (clean) (release) (start_x)
tvservice -m DMT -v 2
Group DMT has 3 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:40MHz progressive
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:65MHz progressive

I'll be staying on 21bfdeee3a6ea823e2113b983390acd1eec8edfb until this is fixed.

Return to “Troubleshooting”