jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24175
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:48 pm

Fairly old firmware, have you tried a

sudo apt update
sudo apt full-upgrade

if that doesn;t help, you could try rpi-update.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

skibum
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:45 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:15 pm

jamesh wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:48 pm
Fairly old firmware, have you tried a

sudo apt update
sudo apt full-upgrade

if that doesn;t help, you could try rpi-update.
Updated fully and updated firmware with rpi-update as well.

They are now on :-

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ vcgencmd version
Nov 29 2019 18:44:32
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version aabb1fb5c19d80db268aeccd67b9f4e0f3d48a2a (clean) (release) (start)

and

[email protected]:~ $ vcgencmd version
Nov 29 2019 18:44:32
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version aabb1fb5c19d80db268aeccd67b9f4e0f3d48a2a (clean) (release) (start)

So I'll see how that goes.

Aardappeltaart
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:48 pm

hippy wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:21 pm
Aardappeltaart wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 2:01 pm
Most people out there I've spoken think it is a Raspberry Pi 4 problem and not a faulty HDMI cable.
That's probably because most people have been led to believe that expensive and so-called better HDMI cables are not necessary, are a money-taking scam; cheap cable is just fine, and in most cases it is

That, as they are now finding, isn't the full story. But it's not surprising, when they find their cable which otherwise has never caused a problem before does with a Pi 4B, that they jump to the conclusion it must be a Pi problem rather than a cable problem.
Why I don't use the official cable?
- too short (1m), for my use-case I need 2-3m

BTW I have difficulties running `xrandr` over ssh. Not even after starting X (startX):

Code: Select all

xrandr --display :0
Can't open display :0
Will try the new firmware.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12412
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:53 pm

The RPF people are aware of the issue that some HDMI video modes generate frequencies that can interfere with WiFi, and, according to this post they are attempting to solve the problem with software:
PhilE wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:58 am
Friday's rpi-update firmware release includes a patch to choose an HDMI mode for [email protected] with alternate timing (reduced blanking) to avoid harmonics in the 2.4GHz band.
It is a purely physical problem, meaning it doesn't only happen with an RPI4, it can happen with any system that generates 4K HDMI video, and has 2.4GHz WiFi, and where both signals (for WiFi, and HDMI) are in close proximity to each other.

Diablo2_Fan
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 6:47 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:21 am

mahjongg wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:53 pm
The RPF people are aware of the issue that some HDMI video modes generate frequencies that can interfere with WiFi, and, according to this post they are attempting to solve the problem with software:
Can they do the same "magic" with the USB3 interfere, please? :-))

Aardappeltaart
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:07 am

mahjongg wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:53 pm
The RPF people are aware of the issue that some HDMI video modes generate frequencies that can interfere with WiFi, and, according to this post they are attempting to solve the problem with software:
PhilE wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:58 am
Friday's rpi-update firmware release includes a patch to choose an HDMI mode for [email protected] with alternate timing (reduced blanking) to avoid harmonics in the 2.4GHz band.
It is a purely physical problem, meaning it doesn't only happen with an RPI4, it can happen with any system that generates 4K HDMI video, and has 2.4GHz WiFi, and where both signals (for WiFi, and HDMI) are in close proximity to each other.
Thx for the extra information, I'm glad they working on it.

Does that implicate that:
- using HDMI1 will mitigate the problem
- there can be issues, despite a good shielded HDMI cable

I'm asking that because in my test results the choice of monitor matters more than the cable.

deralbert
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:19 pm

Hi. I also have this problem with Wi-Fi. I have Raspberry Pi model B with 4GB RAM. What have I already done:
1. sudo apt update
2. sudo apt full-upgrade
3. HDMI through interface 01
4. sudo rpi-update

None of this actions helped me, I can not connect to the 5ghz network. I also tried to make the screen resolution smaller (now I have 1920x1080), but that does not help me either. I have original HDMI cables from Raspberry Pi, have official PSU. 2,4ghz Wi-Fi works fine. All 5 ghz networks are visible to my raspberry pi, but when I try to connect with one of them - nothing happens. But I am sure that my 5ghz network is working properly. I can connect to it from my computer or from my smartphone. I have no MAC-Filters on my router enabled.

amgrays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:52 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:51 pm

deralbert wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:19 pm
None of this actions helped me, I can not connect to the 5ghz network.
Suggest:
1) Do you have anything connected to USB3?
2) Try REALLY low resolution - easiest way is put following line in config.txt:

Code: Select all

hdmi_safe=1

deralbert
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:22 pm

amgrays wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:51 pm
deralbert wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:19 pm
None of this actions helped me, I can not connect to the 5ghz network.
Suggest:
1) Do you have anything connected to USB3?
2) Try REALLY low resolution - easiest way is put following line in config.txt:

Code: Select all

hdmi_safe=1
1) Yes, I use Raspberry Pi keyboard + mouse.
2) Done, it didn't help me. The problem persists.

trejan
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:36 pm

deralbert wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:19 pm
None of this actions helped me, I can not connect to the 5ghz network
You've got a different issue. This HDMI issue caused problems with 2.4GHz and it was with a specific resolution + channel 1.

trejan
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:41 pm

Diablo2_Fan wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:21 am
Can they do the same "magic" with the USB3 interfere, please? :-))
Nope. You need better shielding or use an extension to move the USB 3.0 device further away.

Aardappeltaart
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:44 am

skibum wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:15 pm


[email protected]:~ $ vcgencmd version
Nov 29 2019 18:44:32
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version aabb1fb5c19d80db268aeccd67b9f4e0f3d48a2a (clean) (release) (start)

[/code]

So I'll see how that goes.
Tried that firmware: HDMI audio was dropped in some files. TV was working fine with sound, so the KODI GUI.

So reverted to get audio back:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install --reinstall raspberrypi-bootloader raspberrypi-kernel
vcgencmd version
Sep 24 2019 17:34:30
Now I wanna give it another try, testing WIFI performance, but running rpi-update doesn't do much now:

Code: Select all

 $ sudo rpi-update
 *** Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS and Dom
 *** Performing self-update
 *** Relaunching after update
 *** Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS and Dom
 *** Your firmware is already up to date
Did I mess something up?

jdb
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 2160
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:56 pm

Remove the file /boot/.firmware_revision.
Rockets are loud.
https://astro-pi.org

Aardappeltaart
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:18 pm

jdb wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:56 pm
Remove the file /boot/.firmware_revision.

:D

Aardappeltaart
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:24 am

I had no audio issues this time.

For WIFI no improvement in my setup, on the contrary AP with channel 12 was less stable with the new firmware.

Had myriads messages in syslog:

Code: Select all

hostapd: wlan0: STA xx:xx:xx:xx IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Reverted:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install --reinstall raspberrypi-bootloader raspberrypi-kernel

jbobfunky
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:19 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:39 pm

Hello everyone,

First timer here and newbie to a lot of this. I seem to be having the same issue. I have a Rpi4 Model B. Every thing was gravy up until a few days ago, now the Rpi4 will not connect on wifi. It appears to connect but when I open the browser, no page can be reached.

I tried setting the screen res to 800x600, and rebooting. Didn't work. I connected it via Ethernet cable and was able to an update/upgrade but the problem persist.

When I type in terminal:

$ hostname -I

I get nothing. No IP returns.

It seems to make my router (Comtrend AR-5319) haywire too, trying to access it becomes super slow and unresponsive, until I power cycle it.
A bit a of a bummer :| really but not sure what to do from here. All my other devices connect great, no problem, even the trusty Rpi3.

However this is a strange issue indeed...all help is appreciated!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24175
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:24 pm

jbobfunky wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:39 pm
Hello everyone,

First timer here and newbie to a lot of this. I seem to be having the same issue. I have a Rpi4 Model B. Every thing was gravy up until a few days ago, now the Rpi4 will not connect on wifi. It appears to connect but when I open the browser, no page can be reached.

I tried setting the screen res to 800x600, and rebooting. Didn't work. I connected it via Ethernet cable and was able to an update/upgrade but the problem persist.

When I type in terminal:

$ hostname -I

I get nothing. No IP returns.

It seems to make my router (Comtrend AR-5319) haywire too, trying to access it becomes super slow and unresponsive, until I power cycle it.
A bit a of a bummer :| really but not sure what to do from here. All my other devices connect great, no problem, even the trusty Rpi3.

However this is a strange issue indeed...all help is appreciated!
Different problem I suspect, this one is very specific to particular (and less used) HDMI modes, and 800x600 isn't one of them.

If it appears to connect, then it probably is connected, and the issue is elsewhere.

When you think it is connected, bring up a terminal window and post the results of ifconfig and iwconfig. You might want to obscure any personal information listed.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

jbobfunky
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:19 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:18 pm

jamesh wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:24 pm
jbobfunky wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:39 pm
Hello everyone,

First timer here and newbie to a lot of this. I seem to be having the same issue. I have a Rpi4 Model B. Every thing was gravy up until a few days ago, now the Rpi4 will not connect on wifi. It appears to connect but when I open the browser, no page can be reached.

I tried setting the screen res to 800x600, and rebooting. Didn't work. I connected it via Ethernet cable and was able to an update/upgrade but the problem persist.

When I type in terminal:

$ hostname -I

I get nothing. No IP returns.

It seems to make my router (Comtrend AR-5319) haywire too, trying to access it becomes super slow and unresponsive, until I power cycle it.
A bit a of a bummer :| really but not sure what to do from here. All my other devices connect great, no problem, even the trusty Rpi3.

However this is a strange issue indeed...all help is appreciated!
Different problem I suspect, this one is very specific to particular (and less used) HDMI modes, and 800x600 isn't one of them.

If it appears to connect, then it probably is connected, and the issue is elsewhere.

When you think it is connected, bring up a terminal window and post the results of ifconfig and iwconfig. You might want to obscure any personal information listed.
Ok! Thanks for the reply! I hope I'm replying correctly "with quotes".... Man this stuff is deep.... :P Anyway, Here's what I got doing what you suggested:

################################################
[email protected]:~ $ ifconfig
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether dc:a6:32:37:3b:8a txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::512d:c8a6:6b8:b3ab prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether dc:a6:32:37:3b:8b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 94 bytes 19248 (18.7 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 125 bytes 37373 (36.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

##############################################


iwconfig
wlan0 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"fairpoint05712"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: C8:D1:2A:6B:B7:AD
Bit Rate=150 Mb/s Tx-Power=31 dBm
Retry short limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:on
Link Quality=64/70 Signal level=-46 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

Defo don't understand what I'm looking but I hope this helps! Thank again for your time, loving the Pi community... want to get this fixed tho!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24175
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:23 pm

Hmm. Its connected to the access point, but may not have a IP address (presuming you are using IPv4).

Output from dmesg when it fails might be useful - just the last 100 lines or so (dmesg | tail -100)
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

jbobfunky
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:19 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:07 pm

Here's what I got...This stuff is crazy! This is truly a weird problem. When that pi4 connects, it make my router go crazy..

[email protected]:~ $ dmesg|tail -100
[ 2.091246] systemd[1]: Proceeding WITHOUT firewalling in effect! (This warning is only shown for the first loaded unit using IP firewalling.)
[ 2.505893] random: systemd: uninitialized urandom read (16 bytes read)
[ 2.514551] random: systemd: uninitialized urandom read (16 bytes read)
[ 2.520188] systemd[1]: Listening on Syslog Socket.
[ 2.520599] random: systemd: uninitialized urandom read (16 bytes read)
[ 2.521067] systemd[1]: Listening on fsck to fsckd communication Socket.
[ 2.526473] systemd[1]: Created slice system-systemd\x2dfsck.slice.
[ 2.548194] systemd[1]: Condition check resulted in Journal Audit Socket being skipped.
[ 2.709408] i2c /dev entries driver
[ 3.150703] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): re-mounted. Opts: (null)
[ 3.244691] systemd-journald[107]: Received request to flush runtime journal from PID 1
[ 3.834173] rpivid-mem feb00000.hevc-decoder: rpivid-hevcmem initialised: Registers at 0xfeb00000 length 0x0000ffff
[ 3.852855] vc_sm_cma: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 3.854874] bcm2835_vc_sm_cma_probe: Videocore shared memory driver
[ 3.854890] [vc_sm_connected_init]: start
[ 3.860780] [vc_sm_connected_init]: installed successfully
[ 3.874168] rpivid-mem feb10000.rpivid-local-intc: rpivid-intcmem initialised: Registers at 0xfeb10000 length 0x00000fff
[ 3.883711] rpivid-mem feb20000.h264-decoder: rpivid-h264mem initialised: Registers at 0xfeb20000 length 0x0000ffff
[ 3.902799] rpivid-mem feb30000.vp9-decoder: rpivid-vp9mem initialised: Registers at 0xfeb30000 length 0x0000ffff
[ 3.912265] media: Linux media interface: v0.10
[ 4.002536] videodev: Linux video capture interface: v2.00
[ 4.035842] snd_bcm2835: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 4.054413] bcm2835_mmal_vchiq: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 4.056386] bcm2835_mmal_vchiq: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 4.084478] bcm2835_v4l2: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 4.095976] bcm2835_codec: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 4.107497] bcm2835_audio soc:audio: card created with 8 channels
[ 4.164510] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Device registered as /dev/video10
[ 4.164548] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Loaded V4L2 decode
[ 4.171481] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Device registered as /dev/video11
[ 4.171513] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Loaded V4L2 encode
[ 4.183163] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Device registered as /dev/video12
[ 4.183197] bcm2835-codec bcm2835-codec: Loaded V4L2 isp
[ 4.238861] cfg80211: Loading compiled-in X.509 certificates for regulatory database
[ 4.319047] [drm] Initialized v3d 1.0.0 20180419 for fec00000.v3d on minor 0
[ 4.349783] cfg80211: Loaded X.509 cert 'sforshee: 00b28ddf47aef9cea7'
[ 4.434327] brcmfmac: F1 signature read @0x18000000=0x15264345
[ 4.447204] brcmfmac: brcmf_fw_alloc_request: using brcm/brcmfmac43455-sdio for chip BCM4345/6
[ 4.447867] usbcore: registered new interface driver brcmfmac
[ 4.667587] vc4-drm soc:gpu: bound fe600000.firmwarekms (ops vc4_fkms_ops [vc4])
[ 4.667631] checking generic (3e887000 373800) vs hw (0 ffffffffffffffff)
[ 4.667641] fb: switching to vc4drmfb from simple
[ 4.668410] Console: switching to colour dummy device 80x30
[ 4.669360] brcmfmac: brcmf_fw_alloc_request: using brcm/brcmfmac43455-sdio for chip BCM4345/6
[ 4.671194] [drm] Initialized vc4 0.0.0 20140616 for soc:gpu on minor 1
[ 4.671209] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 2 (21.10.2013).
[ 4.671218] [drm] No driver support for vblank timestamp query.
[ 4.671228] [drm] Setting vblank_disable_immediate to false because get_vblank_timestamp == NULL
[ 4.682860] brcmfmac: brcmf_c_preinit_dcmds: Firmware: BCM4345/6 wl0: Feb 27 2018 03:15:32 version 7.45.154 (r684107 CY) FWID 01-4fbe0b04
[ 4.718703] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 240x67
[ 4.718750] vc4-drm soc:gpu: fb0: DRM emulated frame buffer device
[ 6.716018] random: crng init done
[ 6.716031] random: 7 urandom warning(s) missed due to ratelimiting
[ 6.753634] uart-pl011 fe201000.serial: no DMA platform data
[ 6.781671] 8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
[ 7.106544] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap. Priority:-2 extents:1 across:102396k SSFS
[ 7.720877] bcmgenet: Skipping UMAC reset
[ 7.822294] bcmgenet fd580000.genet: configuring instance for external RGMII (no delay)
[ 7.822591] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 8.871788] bcmgenet fd580000.genet eth0: Link is Down
[ 12.255646] fuse init (API version 7.27)
[ 13.383648] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.22
[ 13.383713] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[ 13.383717] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[ 13.384840] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[ 13.384851] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[ 13.384877] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[ 13.398563] Bluetooth: HCI UART driver ver 2.3
[ 13.398570] Bluetooth: HCI UART protocol H4 registered
[ 13.398621] Bluetooth: HCI UART protocol Three-wire (H5) registered
[ 13.398734] Bluetooth: HCI UART protocol Broadcom registered
[ 13.716628] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[ 13.716637] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[ 13.716650] Bluetooth: BNEP socket layer initialized
[ 13.761858] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[ 13.761883] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[ 13.761898] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.11
[57769.802003] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[57769.802022] brcmfmac: power management disabled
[57775.679180] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[57778.747336] ICMPv6: process `dhcpcd' is using deprecated sysctl (syscall) net.ipv6.neigh.wlan0.retrans_time - use net.ipv6.neigh.wlan0.retrans_time_ms instead
[57877.401561] usb 1-1.1: new high-speed USB device number 5 using xhci_hcd
[57877.547156] usb 1-1.1: New USB device found, idVendor=13fe, idProduct=4300, bcdDevice= 1.00
[57877.547173] usb 1-1.1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[57877.547186] usb 1-1.1: Product: USB Flash Drive
[57877.547199] usb 1-1.1: Manufacturer: Philips
[57877.547210] usb 1-1.1: SerialNumber: 900092A982B1F344
[57877.560800] usb-storage 1-1.1:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
[57877.561431] scsi host0: usb-storage 1-1.1:1.0
[57881.260598] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access Philips USB Flash Drive PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
[57881.265338] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 30322688 512-byte logical blocks: (15.5 GB/14.5 GiB)
[57881.267392] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
[57881.267407] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 23 00 00 00
[57881.268783] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
[57881.268797] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
[57881.279846] sda: sda1
[57881.285751] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
[57881.293198] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI removable disk
[57881.857655] FAT-fs (sda1): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
[58011.009479] usb 1-1.1: USB disconnect, device number 5

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24175
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:28 pm

So it goes wrong when you insert a USB flash drive?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

User avatar
jbeale
Posts: 3518
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:51 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:40 pm

"...just touching the insulation of the microHDMI to HDMI adapter cable at the wrong position stopped the ping reaching router."

at least in that case, it is clearly RF energy coming off the cable and interfering with wifi. If you put a noise source (leaky cable) right next to your onboard wifi antenna, it's not going to do what you want.

jbobfunky
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:19 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 8:35 pm

No, It simply doesn't want to connect. USB inserted or not. It simply is not working. The reason you see the USB is because I can't use the browser since it won't connect, so I had to copy and paste the terminal info into a txt file, remove it, then insert it into my Rpi3 so I can then post it here.

So the whole picture looks like this:

Everything was working fine. I had my internet serviced and I got a new router because the one I had was outdated. This was about 3 weeks ago. New router up... and everything was working fine. In my new router I had set it to set up static IPs for devices when they connect. The reason, to set up port forwarding because I had set up an SD Card to be web server. The setting was a simple check box that automatically assigns static IPs rather than having to manually set up every device. All was good.

Then about a week ago, I decided that I just wanted 2 static IPs assigned, one for my RPi3 and on for my RPi 4, so i turned off the option for the Auto Static IP assignment to manually set up those IPs for the appropriate and then set up port forwarding. It was after I toggled off the Auto Static IP that the Rpi4 would not connect. Every other device in my house has had no problem with all this, just the RPI4. I made sure there is no MAC Filtering. I checked everything and all my setting a pretty run of the mill, since I'm pretty green at this stuff. I then enabled the Auto Static IP assignment, thinking that it would resolve the issue, but it still persists while all other devices have no problem connecting. Very weird indeed.

Simply, the main purpose is that I want my Rpi4 to be my web server since it's a more powerful machine but now... It had worked before but now.....I can't seem to get if connected via wifi...

When I insert that server SD Card into my Rpi3, everything works proper great and I can hit my server from my WAN Static IP just fine, so something is defo up with the Rpi4. :|

Maybe this should be another thread? Not sure but certainly a bummer. I do want to thank everyone for chiming though! Keep it coming and hopefully it's something I/we can help to resolve! I'm tryin...! :D

jbobfunky
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:19 pm

Re: Pi 4 4GB- Wifi not working when resolution is set too high

Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:17 pm

I'll try to simply move everything to a remote location, away from other electronics in my house and see if indeed its a cable issue..

Return to “Troubleshooting”