bear73
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:04 pm

RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:01 am

Hey,

I seem to have a strange issue and was wondering if anyone else has found a solution to it :
* Virgin install of Buster on the Pi4
* SSH'd onto it and sudo apt-get install grafana
* sudo service grafana-server start

So far so good

Then that's where it stops. Grafana seems to be running, but trying to access it from the Pi or raspberrypi.local:3000 directs me to the /login URL, but that's where it stays. Blank screen. Is there something that I have missed here ? Or is Grafana not yet supported on Buster ? Would it make sense to go back to Stretch or would that just be moving the problem elsewhere ?

Thanks :)

AzraelMasters
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:42 pm

Re: RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:45 pm

Hello Bear73,

the version is quite old and doesn't run on this system.
You need to :

sudo apt-get purge grafana
sudo apt-get autoclean

echo "deb https://packages.grafana.com/oss/deb stable main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/grafana.list
wget -q -O - https://packages.grafana.com/gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install apt-transport-https
sudo apt-get install grafana
sudo update-rc.d grafana defaults

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
sudo systemctl enable grafana.service
sudo systemctl start grafana-server

praxidice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:58 am

sudo update-rc.d grafana defaults

returns 'update -rc.d: error: unable to read /etc/initd/grafana'


sudo systemctl enable grafana.service

returns 'Fail to enable unit: Unit file grafana.service does not exist'


The former is no surprising as there is no rc.d, and likewise there is no grafana.service

praxidice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:21 am

I notice the boot messages display problems with grafana, with multiple stopped grafana instances', 'started grafana instance' and finally 'failed to start grafana instance' .

Another cryptic message mentions 'systemctl status grafana-server.service ' but doesn't advise what to do about it

grafana-cli lists a bunch of files and mentions a 429 segmentation fault in line 39 (which is a blank line)

Can anyone interpret these messages ? They are right over my head.

praxidice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:44 am

Among other issues, the log tells me grafana is expecting a different database, however I'm not aware of how to change that since grafana-cli is broken. Surely there must be a config file that can be edited with nano, but I can't find a mention of one anywhere.

d3noob
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: RPI4 (4GB) and Grafana

Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:54 pm

I've had good success installing Prometheus and Grafana onto a Pi 4. However, I went about it by downloading the standalone binary files and installing that way. I was plesantly surprised by how easy it was. I have a full write up here - https://leanpub.com/rpcmonitor/read

Return to “Troubleshooting”