Sj3rd

2 RX/TX accesoires

Sun May 12, 2019 1:52 pm

Hi,

Im new to working with a raspberry pi, and Im working on a project which uses a GPS and a battery monitor. The battery monitor uses a serial connection with TX (so uses RX on my pi), and the GPS also uses TX (so uses RX on my pi).

How should I wire up the 2 cables. Both on one pin wont work I guess, but can I just put them on different GPIO I2C pins and initialize them on those pins?

Kind regards,
Raspberry Pi Rookie

Andyroo

Re: 2 RX/TX accesoires

Sun May 12, 2019 8:11 pm

I2C is not the same type of serial port as the TX/RX port.

Do you have links to the devices - most GPS units are standard serial (RS/232 at either 3.3V or 5V) but battery monitor can be anything under the sun.

You also need to check the voltage on the GPS and battery monitor - 5V will kill the Pi :cry:
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

PeterO

Sun May 12, 2019 8:17 pm

If they are not logic level signals (3.3v or 5v) the using a couple of USB-RS232 dongles would be one way to do it.
PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.
"The primary requirement (as we've always seen in your examples) is that the code is readable. " Dougie Lawson

1wire

Tue May 28, 2019 1:44 pm

I have a similar question, so I am going to post it into this thread.

One UART of my Pi Zero (or Raspi3B, no matter) is already occupied by a power metering device.
Now I want to install an additional communication with a peripheral (Arduino Nano, or ESP8266), which has to be isolated by an optocoupler.
How can this be achieved most easily?
I guess, Rx/Tx is the signal that can be passed through an optocoupler most easily; low Baud rate is enough. But then, can I activate a second serial port in the Raspi, perhaps over USB, in addition to the usual UART pins?