morcup

Lightning Sensor and external camera shutter release

Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:04 pm

Hello all, first post here, hopefully I'm in the right place. :?:

I am hoping to make a lightning sensor and shutter release for my digital camera. Does anyone have any experience in this?
I found a https://scribblesandsnaps.com/2015/02/2 ... y-cameras/ that has good information on the shutter release portion, but may need help along the way, especially with the programming/tuning aspects of it.

I am completely new to Raspberry Pi (have not yet purchased one), mostly inept at programming, and capable of doing the hardware aspects of this project. I have a friend who tells me he is good with Pi, so feel free to explain things in a technical manner, as I can pass it along to him.

My camera is a Sony A7ii, and I will likely be using the Pi 3 B+

Joel_Mckay

Re: Lightning Sensor and external camera shutter release

Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:24 am

This camera likely supports tethering:
http://gphoto.org/proj/libgphoto2/support.php

People use several tricks to trigger the shutter in a lightning storm, and as they must be fast it usually limits the complexity of the circuit.

In general, with a high-end capture rig ( https://www.krontech.ca/ ) you simply externally trigger the camera to store a recent high-speed moment you wanted to recover.

For consumer equipment used by some, it is usually a Radio-receiver circuit hooked up to a remote burst-capture shutter trigger. Unlike audio, the radio EMI noise created by a strike will tend to occur at around the same time as a strike event. ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparator )

Probably not a great idea to stand next to an aluminum tripod in a lightning storm ;-)

HawaiianPi

Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:42 am

The way you photograph lightning is to use a small aperture so little light gets in and lock the shutter open, then close the shutter after the strike (or several, depending on how many you want in the frame). Timing is easy that way.