bobbymg

New to Raspberry, old to programming

Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:46 pm

I'm a retired embedded micro programmer, 10yrs of assembly and 10yrs of C. I haven't touched a line of code since I retired 10 yrs ago. I feel it's time to refresh my skills before I've forgotten everything. I just bought a Raspberry Pi 3+. What an impressive little box. Looks like it can do most everything a PC can do. What I want to do is develop C code on my Windows XP machine to run on the Raspberry. Is there a cross compiler available to do this? What will I need?

Bob D.

RogerW

Re: New to Raspberry, old to programming

Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:40 pm

Like you I retired a while ago (17 years). I have mainly used python on the pi but recently gone back to C++ for a robot project. I would suggest you don't discount doing all the development on the pi.
I have a B+ so not the fastest and have found it to be practical. I use codeblocks which is a basic but quite workable ide and the edit/compile/run process is fine for a relatively small program.

jahboater

Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:48 pm

RogerW wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:40 pm
I would suggest you don't discount doing all the development on the pi.
+1
IMO the compiler, debugger, editors, and other software tools included within Raspbian are first class and can easily cope with very large projects.

Heater

Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:00 pm

I second or third all of the above.

The Raspi runs a full up Linux distribution, think Unix, and has everything you need to program in assembler, C or many other languages.

Life will be much easier if you skip the complication of trying to cross compile code on a PC.
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

swampdog

Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:12 pm