bmatic

Difference between "Raspbian Stretch with desktop" and "Raspbian Stretch with desktop and recommended software"

Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:04 am

Hi,

I am new to Raspberry Pi forums, I am sorry if this question is already been answered, but I have searched this topic around internet but I can not find right answer.

As I remebered (and I might be wrong) when downloading there was two main images of Raspbian: "Raspbian Stretch with desktop" and "Raspbian Stretch Lite", and now there is a new one "Raspbian Stretch with desktop and recommended software", and question is what is the difference between "Raspbian Stretch with desktop" and "Raspbian Stretch with desktop and recommended software". Of course You can logicaly conclude that in later version there are some additionaly software, but there is lack of detailed explanation. Can someone give me detailed comparasion, and explanation ?

As for one reason I read someware that image with Desktop was exceeding 4 GB when extracted and I presume that was problem when manipulating image on lets say FAT32 file system ?

Thanks.

fruitoftheloom

Re: Difference between "Raspbian Stretch with desktop" and "Raspbian Stretch with desktop and recommended software"

Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:58 pm

bmatic wrote:
Hi,

I am new to Raspberry Pi forums, I am sorry if this question is already been answered, but I have searched this topic around internet but I can not find right answer.