AnneCreek
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:51 pm

Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sat Oct 13, 2018 5:42 pm

Running latest Stretch OS on RPi 3B and attempting to make an OS (SD) backup to USB.

I can select ANY devices ( SD or USB ) to copy FROM.

The "copy to" pull down box shows no devices to copy to. Nada. Zippo.

Rebooted several times. Same issue.

Using an official 5.1V / 2.5A power supply.

k-pi
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:46 pm
Location: Upper Hale, Surrey, UK.

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:08 pm

It seems to work with SD/microSD cards & USB drives OK for me, (yes, sometimes it doesn't like one, I think I just reformatted it, then it showed it).

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4582
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:50 pm

k-pi wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:08 pm
It seems to work with SD/microSD cards & USB drives OK for me, (yes, sometimes it doesn't like one, I think I just reformatted it, then it showed it).
I've just updated/dist-upgraded to the latest version on my P3B+ and it finds a "pristine" USB flash drive O.K. NB: that's auto-mounted by the (desktop) file manager and was left plugged in during the re-boot following the update/upgrade. FWIW, here's some info.:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ df
Filesystem     1K-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root       14930268 6947052   7205080  50% /
devtmpfs          470116       0    470116   0% /dev
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs             474724   12404    462320   3% /run
tmpfs               5120       4      5116   1% /run/lock
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/mmcblk0p1     42420   22640     19780  54% /boot
tmpfs              94944       0     94944   0% /run/user/1000
/dev/sda1       15622672   18704  15603968   1% /media/pi/F58C-76EA
[email protected]:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspiP3Bplus18 4.14.71-v7+ #1145 SMP Fri Sep 21 15:38:35 BST 2018 armv7l GNU/Linux
[email protected]:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 04d9:1503 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0458:003a KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems) NetScroll+ Mini Traveler / Genius NetScroll 120
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5571 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Fit
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0424:7800 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
[email protected]:~ $ 
and a screenshots via a VNC connection
SDCC_Screenshot.png
SDCC_Screenshot.png (55.35 KiB) Viewed 363 times
SDCC_Screensot#2.png
SDCC_Screensot#2.png (42.93 KiB) Viewed 357 times
@AnneCreek(OP) Might be a "red herring" but how is the device you wish to copy to mounted?
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17486
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:56 pm

FTrevorGowen wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:50 pm
k-pi wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:08 pm
It seems to work with SD/microSD cards & USB drives OK for me, (yes, sometimes it doesn't like one, I think I just reformatted it, then it showed it).
I've just updated/dist-upgraded to the latest version on my P3B+ and it finds a "pristine" USB flash drive O.K. NB: that's auto-mounted by the (desktop) file manager and was left plugged in during the re-boot following the update/upgrade. FWIW, here's some info.:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ df
Filesystem     1K-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root       14930268 6947052   7205080  50% /
devtmpfs          470116       0    470116   0% /dev
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs             474724   12404    462320   3% /run
tmpfs               5120       4      5116   1% /run/lock
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/mmcblk0p1     42420   22640     19780  54% /boot
tmpfs              94944       0     94944   0% /run/user/1000
/dev/sda1       15622672   18704  15603968   1% /media/pi/F58C-76EA
[email protected]:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspiP3Bplus18 4.14.71-v7+ #1145 SMP Fri Sep 21 15:38:35 BST 2018 armv7l GNU/Linux
[email protected]:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 04d9:1503 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0458:003a KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems) NetScroll+ Mini Traveler / Genius NetScroll 120
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5571 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Fit
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0424:7800 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
[email protected]:~ $ 
and a screenshots via a VNC connection
SDCC_Screenshot.png
SDCC_Screensot#2.png

@AnneCreek(OP) Might be a "red herring" but how is the device you wish to copy to mounted?
Trev.

One of several posts from OP, it would appear that the install of Raspbian is seriously borked.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/sear ... 2&sr=posts
Adieu

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4582
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:00 pm

To add to my earlier post, FWIW here's a partial (VNC'd) screenshot of the P3B+ booted from the cloned image on the USB flash drive (no uSDHC card present):
P3BPlusUSBBoot.png
P3BPlusUSBBoot.png (131 KiB) Viewed 322 times
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

AnneCreek
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:51 pm

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:19 am

FTrevorGowen wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:50 pm
k-pi wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:08 pm
It seems to work with SD/microSD cards & USB drives OK for me, (yes, sometimes it doesn't like one, I think I just reformatted it, then it showed it).
I've just updated/dist-upgraded to the latest version on my P3B+ and it finds a "pristine" USB flash drive O.K. NB: that's auto-mounted by the (desktop) file manager and was left plugged in during the re-boot following the update/upgrade. FWIW, here's some info.:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ df
Filesystem     1K-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root       14930268 6947052   7205080  50% /
devtmpfs          470116       0    470116   0% /dev
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs             474724   12404    462320   3% /run
tmpfs               5120       4      5116   1% /run/lock
tmpfs             474724       0    474724   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/mmcblk0p1     42420   22640     19780  54% /boot
tmpfs              94944       0     94944   0% /run/user/1000
/dev/sda1       15622672   18704  15603968   1% /media/pi/F58C-76EA
[email protected]:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspiP3Bplus18 4.14.71-v7+ #1145 SMP Fri Sep 21 15:38:35 BST 2018 armv7l GNU/Linux
[email protected]:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 04d9:1503 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0458:003a KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems) NetScroll+ Mini Traveler / Genius NetScroll 120
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5571 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Fit
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0424:7800 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
[email protected]:~ $ 
and a screenshots via a VNC connection
SDCC_Screenshot.png
SDCC_Screensot#2.png

@AnneCreek(OP) Might be a "red herring" but how is the device you wish to copy to mounted?
Trev.
"is the device you wish to copy to mounted"


I fail to see the connection.
The devices shows up in "copy from" and there is NO DEVICE to "copy to" - how can it if "mounted" problem?
The "copy to" pull down box control is faulty / missing data.
It has nothing to do with device formatting too.
Rhe control shudl have IDENTICAL devices as "copy from " control does.

I MAY update / upgrade WHEN and IF there is an official note to solve this issue.

It is annoying , but I cannot risk another failure ( recent upgrade wiped out my Internet access ) and there are workarounds to backup my RPi OS for now.

Heater
Posts: 9837
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:28 am

What we would like to know is:

Why does this work for other people but not for you?

Why do some people say it sometimes works depending on the card or card formatting on phase of the moon?

I'm not suggesting you are doing anything wrong but clearly there is something different in the situations. What might it be?

k-pi
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:46 pm
Location: Upper Hale, Surrey, UK.

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:34 am

I had a problem with one of my pendrives not being read by the system or the program, tried removing/inserting it a couple of times, not mounting it, so I reformat it, & it worked, no idea why, it just did, & I've been using Linux since 1999. :roll:

...but mostly it just works. :D

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4582
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:52 am

AnneCreek wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:19 am
FTrevorGowen wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:50 pm
...
@AnneCreek(OP) Might be a "red herring" but how is the device you wish to copy to mounted?
Trev.
"is the device you wish to copy to mounted"


I fail to see the connection.
The devices shows up in "copy from" and there is NO DEVICE to "copy to" - how can it if "mounted" problem?
The "copy to" pull down box control is faulty / missing data.
It has nothing to do with device formatting too.
Rhe control shudl have IDENTICAL devices as "copy from " control does.

I MAY update / upgrade WHEN and IF there is an official note to solve this issue.

It is annoying , but I cannot risk another failure ( recent upgrade wiped out my Internet access ) and there are workarounds to backup my RPi OS for now.
I did say it might be a "red herring", but the copying tool may expect the possible USB drives to be mounted in a "standard way". I've noted from this and your other threads that you seem to be reluctant to provide detailed information about your setup. Given that, so far, no one else has reported or been able to reproduce your issue(s), without further info. from you no further help/progress can be made. Please remember that virtually all help provided by this forum is from other Pi users doing so voluntarily and that includes the mods.
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

hippy
Posts: 3786
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:45 pm

AnneCreek wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:19 am
I MAY update / upgrade WHEN and IF there is an official note to solve this issue.

It is annoying , but I cannot risk another failure ( recent upgrade wiped out my Internet access ) and there are workarounds to backup my RPi OS for now.
As others have said; you seem to have a very broken and damaged system.

Put the SD Card you are using to one side and keep it safe so everything you have is protected and you can go back to where you are now at any time in the future.

Use another SD Card and install Raspbian Stretch on that. Check that works. Check that things are better and behave as expected with that.

Then you can consider what your next step should be.

AnneCreek
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:51 pm

Re: Cannot copy SD - no "copy to " selection.

Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:39 pm

hippy wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:45 pm
AnneCreek wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:19 am
I MAY update / upgrade WHEN and IF there is an official note to solve this issue.

It is annoying , but I cannot risk another failure ( recent upgrade wiped out my Internet access ) and there are workarounds to backup my RPi OS for now.
As others have said; you seem to have a very broken and damaged system.

Put the SD Card you are using to one side and keep it safe so everything you have is protected and you can go back to where you are now at any time in the future.

Use another SD Card and install Raspbian Stretch on that. Check that works. Check that things are better and behave as expected with that.

Then you can consider what your next step should be.
Already done that that TWICE!
I thing I need better power supply.

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mrharrison and 37 guests