approxdec
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:50 pm

windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:36 am

hello everyone.

in a windows 10 to RPi network connection [ethernet, B+, raspian stretch]
is it usual to expose the /pi directory in the "Map Network Drive' / "Browse for Folder" dialogue ?
Image

i can't remember my first view before network fiddlin' .

have i exposed this myself and if so how do NOT expose it?
thanks
joe

hortimech
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:45 pm

I take it you have a part of your smb.conf that starts '[homes]', is so, remove it along with the lines associated with it.
If unsure post your smb.conf

LTolledo
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:55 pm

set

Code: Select all

browsable = no 
in your smb.conf
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

DirkS
Posts: 9492
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:23 pm

LTolledo wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:55 pm
set

Code: Select all

browsable = no 
in your smb.conf
Indeed. And it needs to go into the [homes] section.

hortimech
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:56 pm

Well yes, you could that, but it is probably just papering over the problem, hiding it doesn't mean it isn't there. Most rpi's have a user called rpi, so you can navigate to the users home directory with the UNC. So if you don't want your home directory to be available via Samba, do not share it.

DirkS
Posts: 9492
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:20 pm

hortimech wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:56 pm
So if you don't want your home directory to be available via Samba, do not share it.
Again acting as a 'clarifier': this means you have to remove / deactivate the [homes] section

LTolledo
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:10 pm

if you dont want your RPi visible in any way in the network... then run these set of commands

Code: Select all

sudo apt remove --purge samba samba-common-bin
sudo apt clean
sudo apt autoremove
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

DirkS
Posts: 9492
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:27 pm

LTolledo wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:10 pm
if you dont want your RPi visible in any way in the network... then run these set of commands

Code: Select all

sudo apt remove --purge samba samba-common-bin
sudo apt clean
sudo apt autoremove
OP is just 'complaining' about the visibility of the 'pi' directory, not any of the other shares,

approxdec
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:22 pm

thank you everyone for your replies.

i need to work through each to make sure i get it.

and sorry i did not reply earlier - my post took quite a while
before it was visible to me.

hortimech
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:47 am

LTolledo wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:10 pm
if you dont want your RPi visible in any way in the network... then run these set of commands

Code: Select all

sudo apt remove --purge samba samba-common-bin
sudo apt clean
sudo apt autoremove
You forgot Avahi, nfs etc

hortimech
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: windows 10 network mapping

Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:49 am

DirkS wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:20 pm
hortimech wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:56 pm
So if you don't want your home directory to be available via Samba, do not share it.
Again acting as a 'clarifier': this means you have to remove / deactivate the [homes] section
I said basically that in my first post in this thread.

Return to “Troubleshooting”