Ant27

Setting taskset/cpu affinity of whole audio stack (ALSA kernel module, lib, USB/gpio IRQ's)

Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:34 pm

So I know you can use taskset to set the cpu affinity of user-space processes. For real time audio in my case (using isolcapus and taskset), that would be Jack audio server and Pure data.

The problem is, Jack runs on top of ALSA, and I need the ALSA kernel module and Alsa-lib to be on the same isolated cores as Jack. Also anything else for handling the USB sound card with ALSA (At least a few years ago, setting IRQ affinity or priority was convoluted or unsupported in Raspbian, but that may have changed).

Would taskset consider the audio chain under Jack to be child processes (therefore moving ALSA and the audio chain to Jack's core)? If not, how should I go about that (a way to set ALSA/kernel module affinity as a whole, or how to find individual PID's and sched_setaffinity them)?

I really appreciate any help. I am a beginner, but this topic seems more appropriate for the advanced section.

Ant27

Re: Setting taskset/cpu affinity of whole audio stack (ALSA kernel module, lib, USB/gpio IRQ's)

Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:28 pm

I’ll just update this, in case someone else has the same goal. Hardware interrupts are defaulted to core 0 with arm cpu’s. You can’t really move them around (maybe with the RT patch).