BramWerbrouck
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:18 am

HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:24 am

Hi,

I'm totally new to raspberry pi. So I have my first problem ..

I flashed my Micro SD card with Etcher (OS: Raspian Stretch)
I connected a mouse, keyboard and my HDMI television but I got the message: "NOT SUPPORT"

my TV:
Screen Size: 32"
Resolution: 1366 x 768 (WCGA)
Aspect Ration: 16:9
HDMI: yes

My CONFIG.TXT
# For more options and information see
# http://rpf.io/configtxt
# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
#disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1366
#framebuffer_height=768

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=86

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
config_hdmi_boost=5

# uncomment for composite PAL
sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# Uncomment some or all of these to enable the optional hardware interfaces
#dtparam=i2c_arm=on
#dtparam=i2s=on
#dtparam=spi=on

# Uncomment this to enable the lirc-rpi module
#dtoverlay=lirc-rpi

# Additional overlays and parameters are documented /boot/overlays/README

# Enable audio (loads snd_bcm2835)
dtparam=audio=on



Can anyone help me with the setup so I can start learning ??

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 8515
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:59 pm

I love asking stupid questions....because I make stupid mistakes and if I ask them of myself, I can make fewer of them....

Is the TV on and set to the correct input *before* you apply power to the Pi?

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4508
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:36 pm

Did you make this change to config.txt

Code: Select all

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=86
yourself, or was it "auto-detected & generated"?
FWIW, you may find these notes on "display optimisation" of interest: http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... tings.html (it's usually best to select a preferred or native mode)
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

pfletch101
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:09 am

Re: HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:21 pm

W. H. Heydt wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:59 pm
I love asking stupid questions....because I make stupid mistakes and if I ask them of myself, I can make fewer of them....

Is the TV on and set to the correct input *before* you apply power to the Pi?
Is this generally necessary? I ask because I thought (from first principles) that it might be, but the Pi (3B) I have used with a TV as a monitor displays fine on it if I switch to the HDMI input on the TV with the Pi already running - they are turned on by the same time switch but the TV is normally tuned to a broadcast channel.

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4508
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:07 pm

pfletch101 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:21 pm
W. H. Heydt wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:59 pm
I love asking stupid questions....because I make stupid mistakes and if I ask them of myself, I can make fewer of them....

Is the TV on and set to the correct input *before* you apply power to the Pi?
Is this generally necessary? I ask because I thought (from first principles) that it might be, but the Pi (3B) I have used with a TV as a monitor displays fine on it if I switch to the HDMI input on the TV with the Pi already running - they are turned on by the same time switch but the TV is normally tuned to a broadcast channel.
it's generally recommended but may depend upon whether the broadcast channel is active and whether the TV detects the Pi's connection and switches its input in time for the Pi to detect it. (I'm using a TV as a monitor for a "brick" PC on its VGA/PC input, NO broadcast/DTV input but up to 3 Pi's possibly connecting via a 3-port HDMI switch and it will sometimes switch over from VGA to a booting Pi on its HDMI 1 without me manually selecting it first)
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 12583
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: HDMI problem

Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:17 pm

The TVs and monitors I've used have had to be on, but it didn't matter about the input being selected. Presumably they would send the correct EDID to the Pi even though the input was not the active one.

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: HDMI problem

Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:52 am

rpdom wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:17 pm
The TVs and monitors I've used have had to be on, but it didn't matter about the input being selected. Presumably they would send the correct EDID to the Pi even though the input was not the active one.
This has been my experience as well. However that does note mean all such devices behave the same. That should be easy enough to test. Just try it both ways and see if it makes a difference.

I have also seen reports of issues with improper EDID data (or no EDID data) begin received from the display, in which case it may work with the proper settings in config.txt, after adding,

Code: Select all

hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
to config.txt (so that the missing or improper data is not used).
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 43 guests