johnathanlee
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:15 am

Newb here and can’t setup n64 controller on retropie.Not enough buttons

Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:35 am

I was given a pie 3b + with retro pie installed with the games I like as a gift from a friend in another state. I purchased n64 controllers with usb fittings. When I turn on the system it identifies the controllers and ask me to set them up. Issue here is that once I get to a certain point I have used every possible button but still have options left in the list, I can’t figure out how to skip that and if I push any button it tells me “already taken”. Please help, i was told all I needed were controllers but I can’t figure this out

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 4552
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Newb here and can’t setup n64 controller on retropie.Not enough buttons

Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:16 am

Is it this setup you are talking about ? https://retropie.org.uk/docs/Controller-Configuration/
Maybe helpful: https://retropie.org.uk/docs/Nintendo-64/#controls


If you dont get an answer here this sounds like a question for the Retropie forum if you ask me.. https://retropie.org.uk/forum/
Or just search the forum:
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp ... pie.org.uk

FlameFireling
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:19 pm

Re: Newb here and can’t setup n64 controller on retropie.Not enough buttons

Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:20 pm

johnathanlee wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:35 am
I was given a pie 3b + with retro pie installed with the games I like as a gift from a friend in another state. I purchased n64 controllers with usb fittings. When I turn on the system it identifies the controllers and ask me to set them up. Issue here is that once I get to a certain point I have used every possible button but still have options left in the list, I can’t figure out how to skip that and if I push any button it tells me “already taken”. Please help, i was told all I needed were controllers but I can’t figure this out
you can try pressing ESC when you have to pair buttons that you don't have

alvarosaez316
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 5:37 pm

Re: Newb here and can’t setup n64 controller on retropie.Not enough buttons

Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:48 am

Just hold A button in the buttons you dont need (I recomend you to assign X and Y buttons to the C-buttons for most consoles, and assign that buttons to the right stick when you want to play N64 games, Z button response to left trigger), Does it have a joystick thumb? In that case, assign it to the hotkey (The last input), if you want to play arcade games, you cas assign Z button to select.

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests