haylermoon

Pulse Counter

Fri May 25, 2018 9:48 pm

Hi there, I'm brand new to Raspberry Pi and electronics so I would really appreciate some help! :shock:

I was wondering how to approach building a system that can measure the number of electronic pulses produced by a gas volume sensor used in an aquarium. The sensor is connected to a standard 3.5 mm stereo jack and sends a small signal through the jack's third contact every time it measures a bubble (https://www.ritter.de/en/data-sheets/pu ... d-contact/). I was hoping to find a way to record the number of signals sent each hour separately for four separate gas sensors connected to one Pi.

I just have a basic Raspberry Pi right now and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction re: materials and programming. Thank you for your help!! :D

Forris
Raspberry Pi Certified Educator

Re: Pulse Counter

Sat May 26, 2018 1:11 pm

The most simple, albeit a bit hacky, method would be to just thing of it as a switch. It only uses 2 contacts, Ground & Signal.

If you are new to all this, I suggest that you have a look at the documentation for the Python3 gpiozero library. This library is already installed on the Pi. Read through (or even better, try them out), the first few 'recipes' from here:https://gpiozero.readthedocs.io/en/stable/recipes.html#

If you look at recipe 2.5 - Button, that would be a good way to start with your sensor. Just connect the Ground from the sensor to any of the Pi's Ground pins, and the Signal to any available gpio pin. Every time the sensor sends a signal, it would look to the Pi just like a button press.

You could modify the code in the Button recipe to keep track of the number of pulses, like this;

Code: Select all

from gpiozero import Button

sensor = Button(21)
count = 0

while True:
	if sensor.is_pressed:
		count += 1
		print(count)
We did something very similar at primary school this term with a project involving water-flow sensors.

jbudd

Sat May 26, 2018 2:07 pm