ulfh2018

MQTT installation on Stretch fixed?

Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:10 pm

I am new to this forum, and though I have been working in the computer business since 1987 (retired now), and have been playing with Linux parts of this time, I am NOT a guru, and even basic things sometimes stops me.

I have now been trying to install mqtt on stretch, but as far as I can see, it's not possible. Have tried to follow different advices, non of them working, and I even tried a cook book, that said this would solve the problem, but the version of mqtt I wanted did not exist, and when I tried a newer version, the command I should use, did not work at all. (That's one of the problmes with Linux, utilities and commands are not alway simple to understand).

I have no problems installing on Jessie, so my questions are two:

1. Have anyone made a successful installation?
2. Will the problem with the libraries that does not exist ever be sorted out?

Best regards

Ulf

droleary

Re: MQTT installation on Stretch fixed?

Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:57 pm

You don't give any details that are useful for debugging whatever issues you're experiencing. MQTT is a protocol, not a piece of software. Are you trying to install Mosquitto, or something else? The packages for that install just fine for me. If you're trying to build something from source code, you may want to take the issues you're having into the Programming discussion groups.

PhatFil

Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:37 pm

open a terminal window or putty session if running headless and type

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y
sudo apt-get install mosquitto
sudo apt-get install mosquitto-clients

to install mosquitto mqtt broker and clients

then to test its all ok, type

mosquitto_sub –d –t mqtt-test

this will sit waiting as you have just subscribed to the mqtt topic mqtt-test

So open a second terminal session and this time publish a mqtt message to the mqtt-test topic with a command