psergiu

Re: GPIO -> Multiple Serial Ports (UART)

Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:40 pm

Hello,

Since i'm a beginner at embeeded electronics, i have to ask:

Is there a way to connect multiple UART chips to RPi's GPIO pins so you can have multiple serial ports (once you write the Linux drivers) ? Can any GPIO pin become a UART TX or RX or there is something special about the UART pins ?

I know RPi has one 3v3 UART, but i was curious if more can be added without resorting to USB-Serial adapters.

I have a storage room half-filled with older Unix servers & workstations - all of them have serial consoles. I am envisioning a RPi Rev.B + UART chips + MAX232s acting as a terminal server - you telnet/ssh to port 2000+n and you are connected to serial port n.

liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator

Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:46 pm

The UART pins are the only ones with a hardware-accelerated UART attached. You can bitbang a UART if you want, but it'll use up a lot of processing resources which the UART pins wouldn't use.
Director of Communications, Raspberry Pi

bsmulders

Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:01 pm

If you don't need to communicate with several servers at once, you can always try multiplexing?

I do must say that I wouldn't try multiplexing on-the-fly / hot-swapping, but switching when there is no active connection should be fine.

Edit: Just googled it, you can use the MAX389/MAX399:

http://www.maxim-ic.com/app-no.....mvp/id/588

I have no affiliation with Maxim.

mjtessmer

Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:14 pm

Maxim has a SPI to UART/RS232 converter chip; MAX3111.

You can hook up several of these chips to the R-Pi's

SPI port on the GPIO connector and then use the GPIO bits

to select the chips.

psergiu

Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:18 pm

liz - thanks a lot for the info ! So the sollution seems to be SPI-UART or I2C-UART (like MAX3107 or SC16IS750)