TomLO

Connecting ethernet cable kills the wifi

Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:45 pm

Hi all,

I'm still fairly new to using a Pi and I've hit a bit of a snag, tried searching this forum and googling so if it has come up before and is already solved I do apologise.

I've got RealVNC set up on the Pi and working fine over wifi, however if I connect an ethernet cable to the Pi then I lose the wifi connection until the ethernet cable is unplugged. Just to clarify that the ethernet cable is not connected to my home network just to a separate 4 port switch as I will be using it to connect to an external controller board. Even without anything other than the Pi connected to the switch it still disconnects from RealVNC and wont reconnect until the cable is disconnected.

I have verified that ethernet connection work ok though as if i connect the 4 port switch on the Pi by ethernet cable to my home network I can then connect to the Pi again.

The Pi is configured with a static IP's for both eth0 and wlan0.

Still quite new to both Raspberry Pi and linux in general so not sure what other info will be needed to help with troubleshooting.

Thanks in advance.

Tom

B.Goode

Re: Connecting ethernet cable kills the wifi

Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:34 pm

Welcome to the Raspberry Pi forums.

Making an Ethernet connection does not 'kill' your WiFi, it just takes a higher precedence.

I think that behaviour is attributable to a package called hotplug, or ifhotplugd, or similar.

If this is not the behaviour you want it might be possible to reconfigure it or remove the unwanted function.

TomLO

Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:03 pm

Thanks for the reply and for the welcome, sorry my terminology was poor it doesnt kill the wifi as such but drops the current connection.