MattLate
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:42 pm

NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:26 pm

I just used NOOBS v2.4.3 to setup three new RPi3b with Raspian Jesse (4.9.31-v7+). All my previous RPis had NTPD, and I could modify the /etc/ntp.conf file and/or use ntpq to see the status of peers. But none of that seems to be included in this latest build. The ntp.service does not exist neither.

I am just trying to get the same functionality as previous Raspian Jesse builds. They seem to be keeping time OK, so maybe there is a new NTP mechanism built into this build?

Does anyone have tips on installing ntpd or have information on how this latest build is handling time keeping?

Thanks!
-Matt

MattLate
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:40 pm

Apparently the latest Noobs installs Raspian version 9 (Stretch), which others have also experienced some differences with NTP behavior and/or ntpd existence. I've run through so many of these Noobs installs that I never even noticed the different "pretty name" changing from Jessie to Stretch. Everything else is working good, so I'd like to continue on with Stretch, just needing some clarification on NTP and time sync.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39796
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:10 pm

You're right it's missing.
It installs OK with sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install ntp

There's a systemd-timesync service running on a default install of Stretch.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All fake doctors are on my foes list.

knute
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:14 am
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:10 pm

DougieLawson wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:10 pm
You're right it's missing.
It installs OK with sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install ntp

There's a systemd-timesync service running on a default install of Stretch.
I wondered how the clock got set. Do you have to disable the systemd-timesync if you install ntp?

Thanks!

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39796
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:37 pm

knute wrote:
Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:10 pm
I wondered how the clock got set. Do you have to disable the systemd-timesync if you install ntp?
No. But it could get confusing if you don't.

systemd-timesync is a dumb sntp client.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All fake doctors are on my foes list.

MattLate
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: NTPD missing on latest Raspian?

Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:58 pm

Thanks for clarifying DougieLawson!
Some good info available for systemd-timesyncd here -> https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd-timesyncd .

Return to “Beginners”