ggee
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:01 pm

How do I git Google assistant to always use metric?

Sun Jun 18, 2017 2:38 am

How do I git Google assistant to always use metric? I know that I can get it to answer in metric (eg. celsius) if I ask, but I want to make that the default.

Thanks

Silverlock
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:51 am

Re: How do I git Google assistant to always use metric?

Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:14 am

Me: "Ok Google."
Me: "Use Celsius from now on."
Google: "Okay, I'll remember that you prefer Celsius."

And... it does. That also takes care of wind speeds in km/hr too.
RPi3+external HDD/Raspbian Stretch

MikZ
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:23 pm

Re: How do I git Google assistant to always use metric?

Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:28 pm

I wish Silverlock was right. Sure, I get temperatures in Celsius, but when I ask how far it is to the next rest stop, it still tells me in miles, and when I asked about the height of Kosciuszko, it babbled on about feet or some other anarchism. I know Google's HQ is in located in a country obsessed with the 1950s, but it's an international company, so there's no excuse for making it so hard to use their products in the rest of the world.

sheridat
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 11:18 am

Re: How do I git Google assistant to always use metric?

Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:03 am

are you driving with an AIY kit in your car??????

You can ask it "how many kilometers to xyz" if km rather than miles is important to you.

I live in the UK so celsius and miles is the correct combination

divx118
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:57 pm

Re: How do I git Google assistant to always use metric?

Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:23 am

@ggee You could try changing the setting in the google maps app to always use kilometers. Normally it is set to automatic. The fahrenheit or celcius can also be changed in google now (google assistent) on your phone under settings -> preferences -> weather

Return to “AIY Projects”