Johnuready

Python program freezes

Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:13 pm

Hi I'm new to the Pi and python programming but able to solve most problems over the last 6 months.

I have a program that reads voltage via an adc board and switches relays according to the voltage. This runs but after a few hours it stops with a black screen and the Pi freezes.

Trying to find what is happening I wrote a very simple loop and screen print program and again it freezes after a few hours.

Any ideas? Am I missing a trick to clear working space / variables?

DougieLawson

Re: Python program freezes

Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:44 pm

It's probably got a memory leak.

Post your code on here in [code] your python stuff goes here ...[/code] tags.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

I'll do your homework for you for a suitable fee.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

Johnuready

Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:40 pm

Thanks for the clue on Memory Leak. I have looked through the forum and read chats but confused on the solution. Anybody know the final solution that a novice can implement?

Also, why do Pi users have these known problems and we do not see revisions to resolve?

DougieLawson

Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:41 pm

It's not a "known problem" it's just about 100% guaranteed to be a bug in your code.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

I'll do your homework for you for a suitable fee.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

Johnuready

Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:26 pm

It's been a very interesting weekend. I was looking on the net and found numerous ideas that the network interface connection was the reason for memory leak on Pi 3. After the advise it is always a program I found: