PennyPacker1

Autostart Chromium in latest version of Pixel

Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:13 am

Hello!

I have been given a task from my boss to autolaunch Chromium on our raspberry in full screen with a specific website showing. I have been googling around a lot and there seems to be quite a few solutions out there. Although I have been struggling with getting any of them to work properly. Seems to me that the solutions change somewhat depending on what version you are using. I was hoping that someone has an updated solution for this and can give me a guide on how to do this smoothly.

I also need to know how to properly exit the kiosk mode to enter the GUI mode again when doing testing. I am a beginner at this so please provide in depth guidance or tips on how to solve this.

Many thanks beforehand :)
/Erik

PennyPacker1

Re: Autostart Chromium in latest version of Pixel

Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:09 am

Can anyone help me with this? :)

stefanschauer

Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:40 pm

go to ~/.config/lxsession/LXDE-pi/autostart

delete or comment the line with @xscreensaver -no-splash
and add
@xset s off
@xset -dpms
@xset s noblank
@unclutter
@chromium-browser --noerrdialogs --kiosk --incognito http://www.domain.com/to/kiosk/page

bkm888

Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:04 am

Before I get started here, dear reader needs to be aware that this is a long and wordy reply and not only a damn good set of instructions, but also my opportunity to finally dump my rant on all the noble RPi fanatics that seems to have found it beneath themselves to write something straight forward that the newbies can use to actually get something like this working. I mean if you want the community to actually grow, you have to promote the projects with uplifting results, and not keep telling them to read the stupid man pages. (My rant on the usefulness of those man pages at another time.)

I have a RPi3 and a RPi2 to work with and this is how it went.