Treader

$DISPLAY troubles

Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:14 pm

Hi i am new to the PI and linux computing in general and i am having trouble assessing my display

first of all bash works fine and i can use x without problem but when i try and have another program use the display from bash it cannot locate it, when i call echo $DISPLAY i get a blank line, setting the DISPLAY variable to 0.0 in .bashrc does change the variable when i echo is but i am still unable to open any programs from terminal other than x
plz help im at a bit of a loss here

EDIT:

I am on the newest version of raspbian and am using an HDMI into display port adaptor,
i also attempted to use this in terminal to see if i could get my display info so i could manually set it but it returned a blank line

Code: Select all

for p in $(pgrep -t $(cat /sys/class/tty/tty0/active));
do 
    d=$(awk -v RS='\0' -F= '$1=="DISPLAY" {print $2}' /proc/$p/environ 2>/dev/null); 
    [[ -n $d ]] && break; 
done;
echo $d

thagrol

Re: $DISPLAY troubles

Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:51 pm

Try

export DISPLAY=:0
in your bash session before starting the X app.

Also, the X server needs to be running, setting $DISPLAY and starting an X app isn't enough.
This space unintentionally left blank.

Treader

Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:04 pm

I tried setting the display as suggested and echo $DISPLAY does return :0 but i am not trying to start an x program out of x but have tried multiple programs that should be able to use the display without x they all return various error messages even hello_dispmanx.bin fails

ex1:
hello_dispmanx a screen overlay included in pi software

Open display[0]...
Display is 4 x 1036694296
Sleeping for 10 seconds 
no overlay is loaded

ex2:
hello_teapot included with pi
/*note that my gpu memory is set to 256 more than enough for hello_teapot

Note: ensure you have sufficient gpu_mem configured
hello_teapot.bin: triangle.c:157: init_ogl: Assertion 'success >=0' failed.
Aborted

ex3:
ktop a kiosk browser/gui replacement