zozidalom

Power with solar energy

Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:39 pm

Hi!

I am only a beginner with theis Raspberry PI I have a Raspberre B model. My question is: Can I power my Rasphberr 24/7 with this solar panel and a 5000mAh power bank? http://www.ebay.com/itm/5V-800mA-4W-Sol ... SwstxVCQFA

B.Goode

Re: Power with solar energy

Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:10 pm

Seems unlikely to me. If you can get the battery pack charged up it wiil run the RPi for no more than 5 or 6 hrs. So for the remaining 18 hrs of the day you will be dependent on the panel, whose characteristics are on the low side, to both run the RPi and have enough left over to recharge the battery for the next 6 hrs...

zozidalom

Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:13 pm

Thank you for your answer. Do you have any suggestions, with solar panel i should use?

zozidalom

Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:14 pm

B.Goode wrote:Seems unlikely to me. If you can get the battery pack charged up it wiil run the RPi for no more than 5 or 6 hrs. So for the remaining 18 hrs of the day you will be dependent on the panel, whose characteristics are on the low side, to both run the RPi and have enough left over to recharge the battery for the next 6 hrs...
Thank you for your answer. Do you have any suggestions, with solar panel i should use?

B.Goode

Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:34 pm

zozidalom wrote:Thank you for your answer. Do you have any suggestions, with solar panel i should use?
No.

But unless you have short nights and long reliably sunny days I suggest you factor in a battery pack with a greater run-time.

mfa298

Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:48 pm

zozidalom wrote:Thank you for your answer. Do you have any suggestions, with solar panel i should use?
First off you need to determine how much power your Pi needs to run for a day. Assuming 5V 1A (safe value for a Pi1) that's 5W and 12 hour for strong sunlight.