jarrah31

RGB Full Colour Smooth Cycle Help Please

Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:48 pm

Hi,

I'm hoping to make a glowing snowman to display during Christmas. I've printed a 3d snowman model and have configured an RGB LED to light up the snowman from inside:

I'm now trying to figure out how to gradually cycle a full spectrum of colours that transitions smoothly between them. As I'm no programmer I've been cobbling the code from various internet sources, but it doesn't do what I'm after.

Would someone be able to help please?

This is what I have so far. It fades to the main colours, but then jumps to the next one as it iterates through the for loop.

Code: Select all

import random, time
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO

RUNNING = True
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
red = 17
green = 27
blue = 22

GPIO.setup(red, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.setup(green, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.setup(blue, GPIO.OUT)

Freq = 100 

RED = GPIO.PWM(red, Freq)
RED.start(100)
GREEN = GPIO.PWM(green, Freq)
GREEN.start(100)
BLUE = GPIO.PWM(blue, Freq)
BLUE.start(100)

def color(R, G, B, on_time):
    RED.ChangeDutyCycle(R)
    GREEN.ChangeDutyCycle(G)
    BLUE.ChangeDutyCycle(B)
    time.sleep(on_time)

RED.ChangeDutyCycle(1)
    GREEN.ChangeDutyCycle(1)
    BLUE.ChangeDutyCycle(1)

try:
    while RUNNING:
        for x in range(1,-1,-1):
            for y in range(1,-1,-1):
                for z in range(1,-1,-1):
                    print (x,y,z)
                    for i in range(100,-1,-1):
                        color((x*i),(y*i),(z*i), .05)
                    for i in range(0,101):
			color((x*i),(y*i),(z*i), .05)

except KeyboardInterrupt:
    RUNNING = False
    print "\Quitting"

finally:
    GPIO.cleanup()

PeterO

Re: RGB Full Colour Smooth Cycle Help Please

Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:54 pm

Goggle for "RGB rainbow". You'll find examples of how to cycle RGB values through the spectrum

PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.