nibble123
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:59 am

Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:19 am

Hello ,

I have been struggling long to setup raspberry pi headless installation. I bought pre installed NOOBS SD card and have Pi 2 ( Model B) and Router.
Initially I followed the headless for NOOBS by following http://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/qu ... ut-display however , the green LED stops blinking after 10-15 mins of booting up.
So , I decided to setup "2015-05-05-raspbian-wheezy.img" on sd card and first formatted the card using different tools ( Windows , gparted ) and after that flashed the card using flashnul and roadkil's disk image which both shows successful image written message. However , when I plug sd card into raspberry it does not show any activity as both GREEN and RED led lights up constantly and no light in LAN cable socket as well.
Please help in further understanding and troubleshooting this issue .
What else I need to check to make sure that I am not doing any mistake ...is there any way to check that without buying any other accessories .
If i access the SD CARD file system using ubuntu ..will that help ?
Please help.

Regards,
nibble

User avatar
KLL
Posts: 1453
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:32 pm

for noobs silentinstall that procedure works fine
power up and see 30..35 min heavy blinking red green ( i use a slow SD ?)

check file recovery.cmdline: 'xxx silentinstall'
if you forget to delete all OS but raspbian or the flavour option,
in the new NOOBS 1.4.1 is only the OS data_partition to delete!
the noobs install will not run at all
and when you check the SD later it will be still 8GB and same content
instead if install was running ?800MB? noobs recovery and the rest is by windows unseen partitions.
snap-124.png
snap-124.png (35.6 KiB) Viewed 5072 times
snap-125.png
snap-125.png (26.52 KiB) Viewed 5064 times
snap-126.png
snap-126.png (19.96 KiB) Viewed 5064 times
for burning raspbian img from windows
- SDFormatter 4.0 "FORMAT SIZE ADJUSTMENT" set to "ON"
- Win32DiskImager to burn the img

after noobs installed raspbian or you burned raspbian only
- powerup in RPI2, latest after 2 min
-- red led steady ON
-- green led OFF.

in both cases now find the IP address ( router dhcp...)
and login with putty.

-----: option:--------------------
if you want fix the IP first:
in noobs ( possible only prior to installation ):
- edit \os\Raspbian\partition_setup.sh
after line:
sed /tmp/1/cmdline.txt -i -e "s|root=/dev/[^ ]*|root=${part2}|"
add this line:
sed /tmp/1/cmdline.txt -i -e "s|rootwait|rootwait ip=169.254.3.14|"

in raspbian ( can do also anytime later):
by DougieLawson » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:52 pm
Only if it's plain Raspbian and not NOBS/Raspbian.

Pull the card, edit cmdline.txt to add ip=169.254.3.14 to the end of that single line, connect a wire (doesn't even need to be a cross over), boot and use PuTTY to connect to 169.254.3.14. Grab a beer and celebrate a job well done.
Last edited by KLL on Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

drgeoff
Posts: 11942
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 2:25 pm

The DougieLawson stuff above is only when connecting RPi directly to computer. The OP has a router. Raspbian has both dhcp and ssh running by default.

After successfully flashing Raspbian image, connect both RPi and computer to router. Power up RPi. Go to router's GUI to see what IP address the RPi has been allocated. Then ssh (eg using putty on Windows) to that address.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

User avatar
KLL
Posts: 1453
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 2:47 pm

! if you want fix the IP first: ! up to OP

nibble123
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:59 am

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 3:36 pm

Thanks , It seems like I am making a simple process complicated here. I am sure I am missing or doing wrong something here.
Here is what I am doing ---
SD card Capacity - 8 GB Scandisk
OS - Windows 7

I formatted the SD card using windows ( Quick Format and got whole 7.4 GB ) and can access the sd card before flashing it with 2015-05-05-raspbian-wheezy.img image. I tried SD formatter but it goes in not responding mode aftre 50% of formatting. I tried with gparted live cd and was able to format from there as well.

Now , the second part i.e flashing the disk , the tried win32disk image tool however , it also goes to not responding mode as soon as I select the image and click the start button. So , I tried flashnul and it works see. the below screenshot for more details.
So , I am assuming that I am doing it right and my sd card has been flashed correctly.

Once, I plugin sd card into rasp it just shows red LED steady ON and nothing else . I have waited for 30 mins or so , but did not got any IP at router DHCP .( just to mention , I was getting IP before when I was using NOOBS silent however , was not able to ping or SSH it , well as I am trying now wheezy image so , just wanted to mention that )

Please let me know in case I am doing something wrong .
The attachment Capture.PNG is no longer available
Capture1.PNG
check
Capture1.PNG (23.8 KiB) Viewed 4989 times
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Flashnul -p
Capture.PNG (3.54 KiB) Viewed 4989 times

drgeoff
Posts: 11942
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:08 pm

1. If putting an image on a card, you don't need to format it. Just write the image. (The format won't do any harm, just a waste of time. It is necessary if you want to put NOOBS on a card.)

2. If Win32DiskImager does not work, something is wrong. I know that is obvious, but it suggests that flashnul won't work properly either. Your symptoms of the ACT LED not flashing reinforce that.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 18727
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:09 pm

When you write the image file, you have to write to the physical drive, not the logical one. The Image contains two logical drives, the small boot area that windows will see afterwards, and the large Linux area.

If I understand your flashnul program correctly, that would be drive 2 in this case. You will also probably have to safely remove and reinsert the card to see the changes.

Also, I agree with what drgeoff said about win32diskimage not working.

nibble123
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:59 am

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:27 pm

OK , I got some luck and it seems to be working after following the steps in post http://myraspberrypiexperience.blogspot ... ndows.html
seems like dd tool did the job on windows 7. ( the only difference I observe was that after flashing with dd there was around 55 MB partition which was accessible on windows , earlier there was no partition accessible in windows )
However , again I am facing the same issue which I did faced while doing the silent installation of NOOBS. I can see the IP at router and my LAN lights are steady now , RED is steady ON, Green is OFF after blinking in starting however , I can not ping or SSH the rasp IP :(
Any Idea how to access or to know whats the issue , as I can access other machines /devices connected to my router.

Thanks ,

nibble123
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:59 am

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:12 pm

I did tried adding ip=192.168.1.2 at cmdline with notepad++ and configure 192.168.1.1 IP at my LAN adapter however , still no charm.
The LAN ACK shows lot of activity however , no ping or ssh

drgeoff
Posts: 11942
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 6:20 pm

Remove the ip line you added to config.txt.

What do you mean by "lan adaptor"?

What is the exact reply you get when you ping the IP address that your router has assigned to the RPi?

What ssh program are you using on the PC?
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

User avatar
KLL
Posts: 1453
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:16 pm

nibble123 wrote: I tried SD formatter but it goes in not responding mode aftre 50% of formatting.

tried win32disk image tool however , it also goes to not responding mode as soon as I select the image and click the start button.
-a- problem with SD card: try a other one
-b- still problem with new SD card try new card reader ( there are still old, non SDHC types, as external or special as laptop internal readers ) ( look your SD Card type?)
-c- if SD card is suspect recommend use SDFormatter 4.0 with option:
format type FULL OVERWRITE, format size adjustment ON
even prior to use Win32DiskImager for burn raspbian image.
do not use windows format on it!
and as the other 2 programs you used report OK ( for a bad SD card ) forget it.

the 2 program what are recommended here ( at this forum ) for format and burn SD cards,
you used them already, they failed on your SD card, but you missed to report that in your first post!
nibble123 wrote: I can see the IP at router
...
configure 192.168.1.1 IP at my LAN adapter ... no ping

while doing the silent installation of NOOBS. I can see the IP at router
also your network seems to be difficult:
- you use 2 different words, LAN adapter and router
- you changed router IP ?why? after that, did you reboot the RPI AND the PC?
what was the IP of all 3 devices prior to that change (at original router and no fix IP at RPI)??
sorry: actually i doubt that, what info you see at router?
- while you in NOOBS set up ( router show device "unknown" )
or after finished in noobs raspbian RPI ( router show device "raspberrypi" ) is online,
but in the 30min setuptime ( noobs write raspbian ) RPI is NOT online
even the router might still show device "unknown" ( from a noobs setup )
but ping not work!
ping 192.168.1.33
Reply from (PC IP ): Destination host unreachable.

after reboot to raspbian ( RPI1B 36min ) "unknown" change to "raspberrypi"

like a DHCP lease "raspberry" can be something very old, even you press a refresh button in your router status page. Actually you would need to reboot ( power off) router, RPI and PC
to see good info in router.
The advanced IP scanner program gives some wrong/mixed up/ device descriptions ( even it is still usable ), the wireshark program is too difficult for my old brain.
that problems ( and the easy operation for PUTTY and Remote Desktop Program ( Connection)/ or VNC )
to use the RPI headless, make me use FIX IP only, but, it means you must be in full control over your network.

on the other side, if you ever see a "raspberrypi" device in your router it would mean that something was running???
____test_____
drgeoff wrote:The DougieLawson stuff above is only when connecting RPi directly to computer. The OP has a router. Raspbian has both dhcp and ssh running by default.

After successfully flashing Raspbian image, connect both RPi and computer to router. Power up RPi. Go to router's GUI to see what IP address the RPi has been allocated. Then ssh (eg using putty on Windows) to that address.
there is a current issue with the network software that you, when you use a FIX IP, get 2 IP addresses,
so i use a noobs (silent install) raspbian with FIX IP, as i described above, used fix 192.168.1.101, already installed.
and check in the router there is no "raspberrypi" ( or the name you give later at sudo raspi-config ) device in the DHCP lease list.
30 sec after bootup RPI ( noobs is little bit slower as raspbian only (startup_delay)) i see in
router DHCP clients "raspberrypi" 192.168.1.33
i can ping and putty both IP's!
the fix IP not get/need a DHCP lease. the ifconfig show the FIX IP only.
the dhcpcdui ( desktop network icon top right ) show the DHCP IP only 192.168.1.33/24
i can even call the Remote Desktop Connection program 2 times, one at 192.168.1.101, one at 192.168.1.33 and see the same ( dynamic mirrored ) desktop window!

this shows clearly that FIX IP not does any harm ( unless that IP is used already by a other device in your network )
the router info still allow you to ping and putty the DHCP IP
if you have no info from router ( no password... ) the FIX IP allow you to connect to RPI.
( and if you give your laptop ethernet port a (other) FIX IP, you could connect PC and RPI with a direct cable also)

nibble123
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:59 am

Re: Raspberry Pi Headless Setup Issues

Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:20 pm

Hi , Sorry for responding late as it worked at last . The issue was I has shared my wireless LAN connection with wired LAN connection, once I removed the sharing of internet , I was able to ping the PI.
Regards,

Return to “Beginners”