Remove RPI Logo on startup

General programming chat and advice for beginners

10 posts
by vidrus » Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:47 pm
Any way to do this?
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:06 pm
by hunternet93 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:57 am
I believe the logo is compiled into the kernel. You'd need to recompile the kernel to get rid of it, which may or may not be worth the trouble.
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:34 pm
by jojopi » Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:52 am
Add logo.nologo to /boot/cmdline.txt .
User avatar
Posts: 2934
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm
by khawar » Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:12 pm
jojopi wrote:Add logo.nologo to /boot/cmdline.txt .

Thanks. Works perfectly.
Any way to replace the logo with another image?
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:48 am
by aaa801 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:46 pm
khawar wrote:
jojopi wrote:Add logo.nologo to /boot/cmdline.txt .

Thanks. Works perfectly.
Any way to replace the logo with another image?


Its in the kernel.
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire
by geekuskhan » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:19 am
Where in the kernel?
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:58 am
by hunternet93 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 1:51 pm
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:34 pm
by MarkFoley » Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:09 am
Is there a way to remove the logo *after* it finishes booting? It's kind of cute to have it there during, but needs to go away after since it chews up a lot of no-scrolling real-estate, esp. on a 7" screen.
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 8:21 am
by jojopi » Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:04 pm
The logo is overwritten the first time you switch consoles (Ctrl+Alt+Fn), scroll back (Shift+PgUp), or clear the screen (Ctrl+L at the bash prompt).

Also, if you set a console font with "sudo dpkg-reconfigure console-setup", or in /etc/default/console-setup, the logo will disappear automatically during the boot sequence, as a side-effect of re-drawing the screen in the new font.
User avatar
Posts: 2934
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm
by DougieLawson » Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:10 pm
jojopi wrote:The logo is overwritten the first time you switch consoles (Ctrl+Alt+Fn), scroll back (Shift+PgUp), or clear the screen (Ctrl+L at the bash prompt).


You can change that in /etc/inittab - find these lines
Code: Select all
#
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty --noclear 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6


Remove the --noclear from that #1 getty on pts/0.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
User avatar
Posts: 27887
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK