m.daae

Cache Page Size

Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:38 pm

What is the actual size of a single cached page of memory in the RasPi 2B? In the PC world it usually works out to 4K but I'm really new to the linux/RasPi world.

I'd like to minimise the number of dirty memory cache hits by spreading out the memory map such that for the most part each mpu core does not dirty up another core's "primary" memory space (intuitively this would be its L1 cache contents). i would like to use the finest granularity that "works" but I suppose I could just use one fourth of the L2 cache size (512K IIRC) and not worry about it.

It would be nice to know definitively though.

-m.daae

jojopi

Re: Cache Page Size

Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:34 pm

You seem to be confusing the page size in the memory management unit with the cache line size in the various levels of cache. There is absolutely no relation between the sizes, except that you can assume that each will be a power of two with natural alignment, so that a page always consists of a power of two number of cache lines.

The page size is used for memory access protection, swapping, and memory mapping of files. You can get it fairly portably at run time using sysconf(3): http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man3/sysconf.3.html

The cache system is used to improve performance by reducing accesses to main memory. On some Linux platforms, you can get the line sizes using /sys, but this does not appear to be implemented on the Pi: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7946 ... -line-size

On x86, the smallest page size is 4K, while the biggest cache line size is normally 64 bytes. I think that both ARMv6 and ARMv7 are 4K and 32 bytes.

Because of cache associativity, spreading data widely apart on page boundaries or at fractions of the total cache size may force them into addresses that must share the same subset of the cache slots.