jahboater
Posts: 4595
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:38 pm

Turning off composite RCA output

Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:53 am

Hi,

I run one of my Pi's headless 24/7.
To save a few ma I turn off the HDMI with "/usr/bin/tvservice -o"

I read somewhere that its possible to turn off the composite RCA output also, but can find nothing on how to do it.

Can anyone tell me how?

Thanks

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:00 am

Even though it says

Code: Select all

Powering off HDMI
It certainly turns off the RCA output on my Raspberry Pis (tested on a Model B and Model B+).

jahboater
Posts: 4595
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:26 am

Thanks!

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35594
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:27 am

sudo tvservice -o turns everything off.

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ # tvservice -s
state 0x40001 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.00Hz, interlaced
[email protected] ~ # tvservice -o
Powering off HDMI
[email protected] ~ # tvservice -s
state 0x120001 [TV is off]
[email protected] ~ #
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Chris_G_Miller
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:45 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:20 pm

I would also like to get rid of the entry Composite-1 in my setup - see for example output of xrandr:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 480 x 800, maximum 2048 x 2048
Composite-1 unknown connection primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
720x480 62.69
DSI-1 connected 480x800+0+0 right (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
800x480 60.07*+

I think the presence of this (unused) device with a funky resolution is messing up chromium-browser's ability to render images without trying to scale them. I have tried over-riding the resolution in the chromium-browser startup line.

Is it perhaps possible to knock out this composite device via the Device Tree?
I'm using the vc4-kms-v3d overlay with a portait mode LCD which is 800x480.
Thanks - Chris

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 10621
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: Turning off composite RCA output

Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:31 am

Chris_G_Miller wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:20 pm
I would also like to get rid of the entry Composite-1 in my setup - see for example output of xrandr:
Since this is, basically, a different question that the one dealt with above AND the last previous entry was 3 years ago (that is, at least one major OS release back), you'd be better off to start a new thread.

Return to “Beginners”