RichardPi

External led status lights.possible?

Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:09 pm

Busy starting my pi-in-a-snes project, I'm thinking of a couple ideas I want to implement, while emptying the snes housing right now.

First of all, my simple wiring plan for the power, since probable relevant to this question;

Walladapter->into snes->original flip power switch->into pi board.

Now I thought about 2 things I'd like, but I'm a beginner so don't be to hard on me;-P.

*I would like to add an external led to see if power is switched on. Connect to the switch directly,or somehow on the RPi? If so, how?

*And if possible, a led that lightens when the software shutdown has taken place, so power can be safely shut off.
So it lights up after soft shutdown. If it's easier opposite is also possible, so it's on while running RPi OS, and off as soon as shutdown has taken place, so only the power led keeps on burning.

***Ideal situation, but maybe hard to do for me as noob?
>system up and running, red light on.
>system is shutdown, so safe to turn off, green light on.

Can this easily being made, without to much coding etc.?

Or am I totally looking wrong way and you guys can figure a better way to have the system status clear with led's on the outside of the casing?

P.s. I found lots of info surfing, but nothing that's clear to me as noon. Feel a bit dumbish...if that's an existing word :oops: !

Something like this works directly(without the switch)?
Attachments
3v-led-diagram.png
3v-led-diagram.png (6.99 KiB) Viewed 19067 times
rpi-project01-breadboard.png
rpi-project01-breadboard.png (42.04 KiB) Viewed 19089 times
...never too old to to learn!

RichardPi

Re: External led status lights.possible?

Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:26 pm

I found something interesting, maybe what I want is possible. But, I don't really understand what the man who posted this on the internet means exactly, and, scared to burn my RPi or end with wrong parts or not working code.