pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 1:39 pm

where is the new Wifi connectivity thread in the forum

I can't find it

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 1:58 pm

What wifi connectivity thread?
There are thousands of topics that cover wifi.

If you have a problem just create a new topic and describe the problem . Don't forget to add details about your setup.

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 2:08 pm

there was a whole wifi connectivity thread that is now locked

is there a replacement topic to start/continue on with??

my RPI wifi does not work.. I have wifi connectivity issues

I am using a realtec dongle on a RPI 2, and I can't connect

how can I troubleshoot it to fix it?

currently it says DNS error when you attempt to launch a browser,
and the Wifi won't connect

I have am attempting to use WiCD network manager to connect using WPA2

I have previously tried to edit my WPA file, and interfaces file, but this did not work

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 2:28 pm

pegasis wrote:there was a whole wifi connectivity thread that is now locked

is there a replacement topic to start/continue on with??
The problem with these topics is that they very quickly end up in a mess.
It's almost impossible to see who is responding to what and if somebody starts new problem
There's a good chance that you will get no response at all.
how can I troubleshoot it to fix it?
Collect more information:
* Exact make and model of dongle
* does it show up with

Code: Select all

lsusb
* does it show up with

Code: Select all

ifconfig
* What OS (including version, use 'uname -a')
* what is in your /etc/network/interfaces
* what is in your /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf?
* what type of security does your AP use? WPA / WPA2 / WEP ?
* Is the SSID of the AP hidden?

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 2:51 pm

Lsusb: Dongle Realtek RTL8192CU 802.LLn W

Ifconfig: wlano does show up

uname -a: Raspberry 4.1.19 -v7+ #858

what is ap?

I am not able to login to RPI forum currently and post the contents of the inferfaces, and WPA config files

I can login to RPI forum from my desktop, but not from my RPI

SSID is not hidden
security is set to WPA2 encrypted using a passphrase

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 2:59 pm

pegasis wrote:what is ap?
Access Point.

Seems that your dongle is supported.

Have you tried to connect it using the Raspbian wifi GUI configuration?
(should probably show as two computers)

If that does not work for some reason you should post the contents of the 2 files I mentioned in my post above.

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:10 pm

yes.. I have tried numerous attempts with the GUI

it said can't get status from wpa_supplicant,

wpa_gui does not see any networks, or adaptors??? :(

so that is when I tried WICD

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:13 pm

Sorry, I give up...
can't help you if you don't give the information I asked for.

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:23 pm

well have a nice day

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:35 pm

the interfaces files now says this:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

I have commented out everything else


I try to connect and the WICD and it says bad password??

it is the correct password, and it connects using other devises.

which security is suggested; WPA 1/2 pass phrase with encryption or something else

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:46 pm

pegasis wrote:the interfaces files now says this:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

I have commented out everything else


I try to connect and the WICD and it says bad password??

it is the correct password, and it connects using other devises.

which security is suggested; WPA 1/2 pass phrase with encryption or something else
I'm really willing to help. I have never used wicd (never needed it) so if you want to use that I can't help you.

If you're willing to try the 'RPF Raspbian way:
* get /etc/network/interfaces back to its original state:

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

# Please note that this file is written to be used with dhcpcd
# For static IP, consult /etc/dhcpcd.conf and 'man dhcpcd.conf'

# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

allow-hotplug wlan1
iface wlan1 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
* edit /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

country=GB
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
        ssid="yourSSID"
        psk="yourPassword"
}
Change country code to where you are (you can use 'raspi-config' to do that.
Then reboot.
If you're not getting connected use

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
to see if your access point / route is visible.

MrEngman
Posts: 3959
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:49 pm

pegasis wrote:the interfaces files now says this:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

I have commented out everything else
Very likely why it does not work.

Are you using Raspbian Jessie? Check with command cat /etc/os-release.

If so set /etc/network/interfaces back to its default

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

# Please note that this file is written to be used with dhcpcd
# For static IP, consult /etc/dhcpcd.conf and 'man dhcpcd.conf'

# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

allow-hotplug wlan1
iface wlan1 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
and try editing file /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf like

Code: Select all

country=GB
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="network-name"
        psk="network-password"
}
setting country=, network-name and network-password to what you use.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

MrEngman
Posts: 3959
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 3:55 pm

Beat me to it DirkS :lol:

However, I would suggest for the scan use

Code: Select all

sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
. I am fairly sure without sudo iwlist scan will use an old list stored wherever. Using sudo will do a totally new scan.

And as DirkS suggests always reboot after changing your network set up and then do the scan.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 4:17 pm

MrEngman wrote:However, I would suggest for the scan use

Code: Select all

sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
. I am fairly sure without sudo iwlist scan will use an old list stored wherever. Using sudo will do a totally new scan.
You'e right. And it solves a problem that puzzled me for the last week or so.
I start my Pi3B to the console and 'iwlist scan' would give no results. It would connect fine, though.
When I start the Desktop and used the GUI applet the APs would show up and at the same time 'iwlist scan' would also show the APs.
Just now I rebooted and 'iwlist scan' fails, but 'sudo iwlist scan' works fine.

Thanks!

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 4:28 pm

[/slightly off-topic]
Follow up on the iwlist command.
From the man page (e.g. http://linux.die.net/man/8/iwlist)
scan[ning]
...
Triggering scanning is a privileged operation (root only) and normal users can only read left-over scan results.
...

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 4:31 pm

my posts are not showing up?

DirkS
Posts: 10205
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 4:34 pm

pegasis wrote:my posts are not showing up?
This one is.

If you try to post a msg and someone else has posted one in the meantime you may have to redo the 'submit' action..
Keep an eye on the messages.

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 4:38 pm

I have edited these files numerous times

Everyone has a different version of what is needed

sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp

sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
ssid="YOURSSID"
psk="YOURPASSWORD"
# Protocol type can be: RSN (for WP2) and WPA (for WPA1)
proto=RSN
# Key management type can be: WPA-PSK or WPA-EAP (Pre-Shared or Enterprise)
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
# Pairwise can be CCMP or TKIP (for WPA2 or WPA1)
pairwise=CCMP
#Authorization option should be OPEN for both WPA1/WPA2 (in less commonly used are SHARED and LEAP)
auth_alg=OPEN
}


Sudo Iwlist wlano scan

show the network in the list
channel 1
key on
WPA2 version1
CCMP
PSK

Os version is wheezy GNU/LINUX 7

MrEngman
Posts: 3959
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 5:28 pm

For wheezy I use:-

For /etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp
and for /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa-supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="network-name"
        psk="network-password"
}


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 5:29 pm

does the network ID and password include the " " or not, please?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 16373
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 5:33 pm

pegasis wrote:does the network ID and password include the " " or not, please?
Yes, you do use the quotes "", like this (made up) example:

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="FederationWiFi"
        psk="Star Base 7"
}

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 08, 2016 6:13 pm

I edited the files exactly and rebooted

using WPA_GUI, I still bet unable to get status of WPA_supplicant?

using WICD, tries to connect and validate, says unable to connect, bad password??

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Fri May 13, 2016 3:13 pm

is WPA_supplicant part of the OS or part of the WPA_GUI?

should I try to remove and re-install it?

giovanniventrucci
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: wifi issues

Fri May 13, 2016 11:28 pm

Hi,I'm Giovanni from Italy
DAMNED THE DAY I DECIDED TO GET SUCH TOY(... :lol: )
I'm really gettin' mad about my Pi3 wifi: shouldn't it work as soon as the boot is done?
Either I'm not able to run it by the proper command or there must be something wrong in OS.
This happens either running the NOOBS or the Jessie both got from the official site.
But what really gets me upset is that everything ran properly after the first boot from the SD provided whith the kit I bought from
NEWIT.
Shame on me when I formatted that SD trying to run that downloaded NOOBS,whithout getting a copy!
Anyway sorry for my boaring complains,I'm not used to communicate through forums.
I think I'll get a new SD card whith pre installed OS,run it and tell what happens.
P.S.:well,it's hard for me to admit the Pi is for everyone as it was intended to be, when such kind of issues can only be fixed by
people well in the job.
Thanks

pegasis
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: wifi issues

Sun May 29, 2016 1:38 pm

wifi should be super easy to fix, and work out of the gate!!

I have removed WPAGUI, test wifi,
re-installed it and tested wif
Wifi did not work in either case.
the WPA_GUI will not scan, find networks?

the WICD is configured, and trys to login but the error says: BAD password
The password is exactly as it should be

wifi does NOT work, and I have tried multiple things to try and trouble shot and
fix it

Return to “Troubleshooting”