10robinho
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:42 pm

Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:52 am

We saw release of RPI3 and official blog post mentioned Compute module 3 release in few months.
However, it seams that no details about CM3 were published.
Maybe somebody knows more?

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 23891
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:59 am

10robinho wrote:We saw release of RPI3 and official blog post mentioned Compute module 3 release in few months.
However, it seams that no details about CM3 were published.
Maybe somebody knows more?
No details yet.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

edje9
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:54 am

Will it be size and pin compatible?

10robinho
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:55 am

edje9 wrote:Will it be size and pin compatible?
I'm sure it will be as Foundation always take good care about backwards compatibility.

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 7422
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:18 am

edje9 wrote:Will it be size and pin compatible?
I can't say much as that's not my role, but I have one and can confirm that it is exactly the same form factor, and I wasn't warned against plugging a CM1 into the board.

Seeing as the Director of Software at Pi Towers is also one of the guys behind Slice (the media player using the Compute Module), he has a significant vested interest in being able to upgrade Slice with CM3, and hence will want backward compatibility.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

10robinho
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:21 am

6by9 wrote:I can't say much as that's not my role, but I have one and can confirm that it is exactly the same form factor, and I wasn't warned against plugging a CM1 into the board.
Can you tell us about memory on CM3? Is it 4GB NAND? Is there anything else you can share? :)

edje9
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:36 pm

Thank you for your quick response on my question.

6by9 wrote:
edje9 wrote:Will it be size and pin compatible?
I can't say much as that's not my role, but I have one and can confirm that it is exactly the same form factor, and I wasn't warned against plugging a CM1 into the board.

Seeing as the Director of Software at Pi Towers is also one of the guys behind Slice (the media player using the Compute Module), he has a significant vested interest in being able to upgrade Slice with CM3, and hence will want backward compatibility.

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 7422
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:03 pm

10robinho wrote:Can you tell us about memory on CM3? Is it 4GB NAND? Is there anything else you can share? :)
No - that's not my role.
I can't answer any question on actual hardware specs beyond what is already public - I value the relationship I have with Pi Towers too much. Backwards compatibility had been stated as a goal, so confirming that was pretty much public information anyway.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

User avatar
mikronauts
Posts: 2729
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:28 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:38 pm

An RPi3 CM (depending on price/features) could be extremely interesting for embedded use!

I am looking forward to its release.
http://Mikronauts.com - home of EZasPi, RoboPi, Pi Rtc Dio and Pi Jumper @Mikronauts on Twitter
Advanced Robotics, I/O expansion and prototyping boards for the Raspberry Pi

gatorback
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:19 pm

I am pleased to see a CM3 is en route because the current 4GB is not enough for my application (8 needed), unless serious amount so man hours were used to strip and compact the distro. That being said, I would NOT ask for confirmation from those 'in the know' what the size of the NAND flash memory will be: it would be nice to know if I am wasting my time creating a 4GB distro for hardware that will soon be legacy (preferably by those 'in the know'). Private messaging if needed.

GadgetUK
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:02 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:07 pm

From http://arstechnica.co.uk/information-te ... l-just-35/
he Raspberry Pi Foundation has a new version of the Compute Module in the works to go on sale in the second quarter. The new Compute Module will not include wireless connectivity, but it will have the same 1.2GHz Cortex A53 processor and 1GB of memory as the Raspberry Pi 3.

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6037
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:19 pm

I saw an interview where Gordon mentioned that you can use the sd card if onboard NAND is not enough. Wish I remembered where I saw that so that I could be sure that I didn't make it up.

sorbonne
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:25 am

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:54 pm

what about the dual cameras? will this be supported?

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 7422
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:44 pm

sorbonne wrote:what about the dual cameras? will this be supported?
Yes. It's one of the things I'm about to double check still works.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

sorbonne
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:25 am

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:23 am

6by9 wrote:Yes. It's one of the things I'm about to double check still works.
and do you have any details about the future camera modules?

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 11006
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:55 am

sorbonne wrote:
6by9 wrote:Yes. It's one of the things I'm about to double check still works.
and do you have any details about the future camera modules?
I think it can be taken as a given that any future camera modules will work with all existing models of Pi that have a CSI connector. It is also highly probably that any new camera module will come in two "flavors"--with and without the IR filter.

My hope is that the next camera modules with come with a standard lens mount, such as C-mount (preferable) or CS-mount (okay, as there are inexpensive CS-mount to C-mount adapters).

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed May 04, 2016 12:39 pm

For the new compute module I would like to see a a RPI3 on board.
Just because the compute module is for the industry, doesn't mean that it must have
a low speed, reduced programme store size and low sized RAM.
The current 4GB is much to small and should be at least 16GB and a 1GB RAM - then were are talking
about some really exciting industrial projects. Anything else is a waste of time and effort.
Please keep the dual camera and screens

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10491
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed May 04, 2016 12:44 pm

it has been said by eban that it will be a P3-CM hence the name
no CM2 was made
as to size of on board flash we dunno
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20924
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed May 04, 2016 12:47 pm

bonzadog wrote:For the new compute module I would like to see a a RPI3 on board.
Just because the compute module is for the industry, doesn't mean that it must have
a low speed, reduced programme store size and low sized RAM.
The current 4GB is much to small and should be at least 16GB and a 1GB RAM - then were are talking
about some really exciting industrial projects. Anything else is a waste of time and effort.
Please keep the dual camera and screens
Yes you posted earlier without researching, so whatever you wish list is it may or may not happen, the CM3 design has been set:

viewtopic.php?f=98&t=146948&p=967458#p967458
Retired disgracefully.....

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed May 04, 2016 6:36 pm

Yes you posted earlier without researching, so whatever you wish list is it may or may not happen, the CM3 design has been set:

viewtopic.php?f=98&t=146948&p=967458#p967458[/quote]

Research had revealed basically "no details".

But would it not be a good idea to ask some people that want to use the CM what they would like before end design?
Just an idea...

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20924
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed May 04, 2016 7:15 pm

bonzadog wrote:Yes you posted earlier without researching, so whatever you wish list is it may or may not happen, the CM3 design has been set:

viewtopic.php?f=98&t=146948&p=967458#p967458

Research had revealed basically "no details".

But would it not be a good idea to ask some people that want to use the CM what they would like before end design?
Just an idea...
It takes 12 to 18 months to design, test etcetera........
Retired disgracefully.....

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Thu May 05, 2016 2:35 pm

But would it not be a good idea to ask some people that want to use the CM what they would like before end design?
Just an idea...[/quote]

It takes 12 to 18 months to design, test etcetera........[/quote]

Well, yes, I would expect that, but that does not invalidate my question. Perhaps a questionaire in future?

User avatar
JoanTheSpark
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:36 am

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:21 am

Any news?
2nd quarter is drawing to an end in my part of the world here.. don't know about yours?

ivomilev
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:27 am

Maybe the roadmap of CM3 could be changed because of this: http://www.theverge.com/2016/6/14/11936 ... er-holding

Also I think CM is completely not recommended for any industrial design & product since there is no clear support and roadmap from the SoC supplier. For me, this is the most important when someone wants to design a product with long term support and possible upgrade in order to be rival with other ARM SoC vendors ( like Amlogic ). Current CM uses more than 10 years old ARM instruction set which makes simple NodeJS based application to load for 2-5sec. Just not good for real-time embedded projects. It is just a good toy for educational purposes :)

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20924
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Compute module 3 details?

Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:32 am

ivomilev wrote:Maybe the roadmap of CM3 could be changed because of this: http://www.theverge.com/2016/6/14/11936 ... er-holding
There is a response regards the acquisition of Premier here:

viewtopic.php?f=62&t=151480#p993695

Anyway RPT are now mature enough to bypass Premier if a situation arose that the current agreement dissolved.


Regards you comment regards the CM usefulness, it does have fit in OEM / Embedded / Industrial, but obviously not for everyone, which can be applied to any product.....
Retired disgracefully.....

Return to “Compute Module”