simonwoodhead
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 12:47 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:43 pm

talm wrote:Synaptic again

The dialogue asks for password for root.
Neither pi nor raspberry is accepted.

root can not be changed

Torbjörn Alm, Seden
I am having the same problem with Jessie and Synaptic
Simon UK

klricks
Posts: 6593
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:42 pm

simonwoodhead wrote:
talm wrote:Synaptic again

The dialogue asks for password for root.
Neither pi nor raspberry is accepted.

root can not be changed

Torbjörn Alm, Seden
I am having the same problem with Jessie and Synaptic
Simon UK
As already mentioned start Synaptic from the command line with sudo

Code: Select all

sudo synaptic
-OR-
Set your root password and use that:

Code: Select all

sudo passwd root
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

algif_skcipher
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:06 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:59 pm

Well look at that, it changed

Code: Select all

cryptsetup benchmark
# Tests are approximate using memory only (no storage IO).
PBKDF2-sha1        41478 iterations per second
PBKDF2-sha256      34492 iterations per second
PBKDF2-sha512       3616 iterations per second
PBKDF2-ripemd160   36008 iterations per second
PBKDF2-whirlpool    3175 iterations per second
#  Algorithm | Key |  Encryption |  Decryption
     aes-cbc   128b     8.9 MiB/s     9.2 MiB/s
 serpent-cbc   128b           N/A           N/A
 twofish-cbc   128b           N/A           N/A
     aes-cbc   256b     7.0 MiB/s     7.2 MiB/s
 serpent-cbc   256b           N/A           N/A
 twofish-cbc   256b           N/A           N/A
     aes-xts   256b     9.0 MiB/s     9.1 MiB/s
 serpent-xts   256b           N/A           N/A
 twofish-xts   256b           N/A           N/A
     aes-xts   512b     7.1 MiB/s     7.1 MiB/s
 serpent-xts   512b           N/A           N/A
 twofish-xts   512b           N/A           N/A
(November Jessie image)

Tom_A
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:34 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:53 am

It looks like there's too much potential for problems if you try to upgrade and have customized too much so I'm setting up a new install that I can switch to once I know I can get everything working properly. I'm assuming the problem with USB installs working properly has been fixed. Am I wrong about this?

One issue I'm having now is that my network mount set in /etc/fstab does not automatically mount on start up. I first encountered this problem with later versions of Wheezy and was able to fix it by using NetworkManager. I had to put a script into /etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d that would unmount the file systems when the network was disconnected or the Pi would lock up on shutdown if the drive was not manually disconnected. This no longer seems to work with Jesse although the drives seem to disconnect and re-connect using the script if you turn the network off and on again. Anyone else come up with a way to prevent these issues?

Sunspot
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:56 pm

I work by ssh as root from a Mac using Cyberduck
With my new Pi Zero Cyberduck gave very odd messages (sort of "right that's it - I give up") and it and terminal just would not let me use root. But I could use pi and raspberry as before.

In the end I found this -
Set PermitRootLogin yes in /etc/ssh/sshd_config
and all was light.

If there are new security defaults I think we should be told !

What I do on my private LAN is my business.
Nanny software gets into every corner . . . .

DirkS
Posts: 9944
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:02 pm

Sunspot wrote:If there are new security defaults I think we should be told !

What I do on my private LAN is my business.
Nanny software gets into every corner . . . .
http://linuxconfig.org/enable-ssh-root- ... nux-server would suggest it's not a Raspbian issue.
You should put your complaint to the Debian maintainers...

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5968
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:08 am

Sunspot wrote:If there are new security defaults I think we should be told !

What I do on my private LAN is my business.
Nanny software gets into every corner .
It's not only your business, it's also your responsibility. All the changes made by Debian devs are visible in the changelogs in /usr/share/doc/*/changelog.Debian.gz.

From the OpenSSH Debian changelog:
openssh (1:6.6p1-1) unstable; urgency=medium

[ Colin Watson ]
* Apply various warning-suppression and regression-test fixes to
gssapi.patch from Damien Miller.
* New upstream release (http://www.openssh.com/txt/release-6.6,
LP: #1298280):
- CVE-2014-2532: sshd(8): when using environment passing with an
sshd_config(5) AcceptEnv pattern with a wildcard, OpenSSH prior to 6.6
could be tricked into accepting any environment variable that contains
the characters before the wildcard character.
* Re-enable btmp logging, as its permissions were fixed a long time ago in
response to #370050 (closes: #341883).
* Change to "PermitRootLogin without-password" for new installations, and
ask a debconf question when upgrading systems with "PermitRootLogin yes"
from previous versions (closes: #298138).

* Debconf translations:
- Danish (thanks, Joe Hansen).
- Portuguese (thanks, Américo Monteiro).
- Russian (thanks, Yuri Kozlov; closes: #742308).
- Swedish (thanks, Andreas Rönnquist).
- Japanese (thanks, victory).
- German (thanks, Stephan Beck; closes: #742541).
- Italian (thanks, Beatrice Torracca).
* Don't start ssh-agent from the Upstart user session job if something
like Xsession has already done so (based on work by Bruno Vasselle;
LP: #1244736).

[ Matthew Vernon ]
* CVE-2014-2653: Fix failure to check SSHFP records if server presents a
certificate (bug reported by me, patch by upstream's Damien Miller;
thanks also to Mark Wooding for his help in fixing this) (Closes:
#742513)

-- Colin Watson <[email protected]> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:04:41 +0000

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36159
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:31 am

Sunspot wrote:In the end I found this -
Set PermitRootLogin yes in /etc/ssh/sshd_config
and all was light.

If there are new security defaults I think we should be told !

What I do on my private LAN is my business.
Nanny software gets into every corner . . . .
If you knew where to look you were told, when I updated Wheezy with the fix that changed the root login default it told me it was making the change (and told me how to reverse it).

If you want to do security properly set-up a public private key pair for root and use the public key on the LAN systems that need to login as root. Security is NOT optional "nanny software", security is there to prevent random machines on the internet becoming spam spewing zombies and to protect my data from external attack.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

hvn52
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:18 am

Hi,

I'm trying to use RPi2 model B with Jessie and first installed the 09-24 image on a 16 GB SDcard by "sudo dd if=<image> of=/dev/sdb" . To my surprise, after booting "df -k" showed that /root had 89% (no typo: eighty-nine) used. I went on, and installed tightvncserver. This worked nice at first, but then found that both sshd and the vncserver crashed frequently and then the RPi2 hung: no response at all and I had to cycle power. When today it hung again, I found that there's a new image, date 11-21 so I installed that and find that /root uses 98% (no typo: ninety-eight).
In comparison, my RPi model B+ uses Raspbian Wheezy, never hung yet, vncserver and ssh havent crashed at all, and /root shows a 66% use on a 8 GB SDcard.
So my question is what may be going on here on my RPi2 ?! Am I doing something wrong ?

Thanks for a (useful) response.

DirkS
Posts: 9944
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:38 am

hvn52 wrote:So my question is what may be going on here on my RPi2 ?! Am I doing something wrong ?

Thanks for a (useful) response.
Did you expand the root file system?

hvn52
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:43 am

No, I didn't. It's just the bare installation that ends up like that for some reason.

User avatar
kusti8
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:47 am

hvn52 wrote:No, I didn't. It's just the bare installation that ends up like that for some reason.
You need to so that it uses the dull capacity of the card. Run: sudo raspi-config and select Expand Filesystem
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

hvn52
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:54 am

OK, that makes a huge difference: now only 24% is used. But would this explain the crashing and subsequent restart of sshd and vncserver as well ? Or the total hung up that happened twice ?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36159
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:59 am

It's most likely the root cause of those failures. But it's just about impossible to be certain because you need lots of post-mortem diagnostics to diagnose problems like that (and you won't be set-up to collect that stuff).
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

hvn52
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 12:25 pm

The first post-mortem diags is that it seemed to hang again: I couldn't access ssh nor start vncviewer. Now I still have the HDMI video and keyboard/mouse connected so I could select restart from the top-right login page menu. However, that fact that I can do this makes me doubt it actually does hang. Any suggestions ?

Sunspot
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:05 pm

OK sorry about "Nanny software" And thanks to the devs.
(I had downloaded NOOBS for a brand new Pi Zero and was not even aware it had to have a new Raspbian)

Please note that Raspbian on Raspberry Pi is designed for young beginners who expect simplicity.
It does acknowledge in the write-up that new users will expect to use the GUI for most things.

There are too many messages like "I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that".

On a Mac if you want to do something like edit a file deep in the system the Mac will pop up a password request and off you go.

In some Linux versions (Mint?) you can almost do the same - right click "open as root" etc.

With a modern GUI like a Mac you do not expect to have to find the manual (let alone Google for hours and fall back to the command line)
The system prompts you to do the correct thing. Even Windows does not ask you to drop back to DOS.

dickg4bbh
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:22 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:59 pm

I just installed 2015-11-21-raspbian-jessie on an RPi2B and it booted normally. Expanded to fill my 8GB card. Installed synaptic and also tightvncserver. A bit of a shock to the system having a different interface. Only question is regarding updates. So I still use the same update/upgrade commands as before?
Dick

dgordon42
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Dec 18, 2015 4:23 pm

Yes, 'apt-get update/upgrade' commands work exactly the same in Jessie as they did in Wheezy.
The packages in Jessie are often a later version then those in Wheezy, and new revisions do not tend to show up in Wheezy.
Hope this helps,
Dave.

dickg4bbh
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:22 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Dec 18, 2015 4:41 pm

Thanks Dave. Should be easy to keep it up to date.
Dick

GreatLeader_Technus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:43 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:00 pm

Hey Everyone, I'm having Wi-Fi problems with Jessie. My Wi-Fi dongle is The EDIMAX EW-7811Un and my Pi is a Model 1 B+ has anyone else here found a way to fix it for Pi1 B+?

I notice something when I call up ifconfig, it treats the wlan0 and eth0 the same, where back in Wheezy, the link encap said something else for wlan0.

MrEngman
Posts: 3850
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:21 pm

GreatLeader_Technus wrote:Hey Everyone, I'm having Wi-Fi problems with Jessie. My Wi-Fi dongle is The EDIMAX EW-7811Un and my Pi is a Model 1 B+ has anyone else here found a way to fix it for Pi1 B+?

I notice something when I call up ifconfig, it treats the wlan0 and eth0 the same, where back in Wheezy, the link encap said something else for wlan0.
It works fine with Jessie on my B+. What have you done to break it?

Especially do not edit file /etc/network/interfaces. Add a network section to file /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf like

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="Network-Name"
        psk="Network-Password"
}
For static IP, consult /etc/dhcpcd.conf and 'man dhcpcd.conf'

EDIT: I have 6 Pi's running at the moment, 3 using wheezy and 3 with Jessie. All show

Code: Select all

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet
for command ifconfig. 3 with the EW-7811Un and 3 with other wifi adapters using different drivers. A Pi Zero with EW-7811Un shows "Link encap:Ethernet" even though it doesn't have an wired ethernet interface.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

GreatLeader_Technus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:43 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:46 pm

I just tried that, and nothing happened, I'm not sure if I ever did anything wrong? Is there a way to fix drivers possibly?

MrEngman
Posts: 3850
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:56 pm

GreatLeader_Technus wrote:I just tried that, and nothing happened, I'm not sure if I ever did anything wrong? Is there a way to fix drivers possibly?
Well, as I said I am running wheezy on 3 Pi's (2 x B+, one 2B) and they each have a different wifi module, one being the "official" broadcom wifi adapter and each is using a different driver (8192cu, 8192eu and brcmfmac) and they all show "Link encap:Ethernet" so why do you think something is wrong?

Just to see what an old version of wheezy shows I tried 3.12.35+ #730 which I think was the first version of Raspbian wheezy to work on a B+. That also shows "Link encap:Ethernet".

And a quick search on the internet showed "Link encap:Ethernet" for wlan0 way back when the RPi first appeared in 2011 and used squeeze, rather that wheezy or jessie.

So what do you think it did/should show?



MrEngman
Last edited by MrEngman on Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

MrEngman
Posts: 3850
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:11 am

FYI my kernel is Jessie 4.1.15+ #830 and /etc/network/interfaces file is the default

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

# Please note that this file is written to be used with dhcpcd
# For static IP, consult /etc/dhcpcd.conf and 'man dhcpcd.conf'

# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

allow-hotplug wlan1
iface wlan1 inet manual
    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
and my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file is

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="Network-Name"
        psk="Network-Password"
}

MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

GreatLeader_Technus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:43 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:57 am

My wpa_supplicant.conf looks like this for some reason, and I edited like you suggested from before, but for some reason, it changes back into this:

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="Network-Name"
        psk="Network-Password"
        key_mgmt=NONE
        wep_key0="Network-Password"
}

Return to “Raspbian”