gkreidl
Posts: 5952
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:05 pm

plugwash wrote:
Woll wrote:Will Raspbian turn into a version of Jessie with a sudo apt-get dist-upgrade in a couple of weeks time?
Systems will not be upgraded unless the user explitictly changes their sources.

Upgrading should work but some people have reported problems and so the raspberry pi foundation don't consider it a supported option. They did however post some instructions which other people have linked.
I just upgraded my first HDD based system to Jessie and posted a report here:
viewtopic.php?f=66&t=121880&p=822531#p822531
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer

iw1
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:10 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:15 pm

Perhaps peripheral issues to some but...
1. How do I configure a 2 desktop setup that survives a reboot? In the most recent Wheezy distribution this was still possible using openbox > Reconfigure. This option seems to be unsupported in the desktop supplied with the Jessie distribution.
2. How do I view a pdf downloaded from a clicked link in Epiphany? With the version of Epiphany with Wheezy, clicking on such a link automatically opened the file in the pdf viewer. Now Epiphany shows the file has been downloaded but the file isn't opened and neither the 'Open' nor 'Show in folder' options seems to do anything.
3.(Asked but unanswered in another thread) How do I automount a NAS drive? An entry in /etc/fstab worked in Wheezy but doesn't in Jessie. These lines from dmesg might be relevant but with my limited knowledge merely confirm that it hasn't worked.
[ 8.644162] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0 eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0xCDE1
[ 8.645108] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[ 8.698682] FS-Cache: Netfs 'cifs' registered for caching
[ 8.702049] Key type cifs.spnego registered
[ 8.702135] Key type cifs.idmap registered
[ 8.716320] CIFS VFS: Error connecting to socket. Aborting operation.
[ 8.716695] CIFS VFS: cifs_mount failed w/return code = -101

StuartF
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:25 pm

can't help with 2 or 3 but for setting the number of desktops try editing
/home/pi/.config/openbox/lxde-pi-rc.xml
find <desktops> and then <number>
change this to the number of desktops required
save
reboot or go cli and startx.

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4948
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:48 pm

talm wrote:Synaptic again
The dialogue asks for password for root.
Neither pi nor raspberry is accepted.
root can not be changed
Torbjörn Alm, Seden
plugwash wrote:A workaround would probablly be to start synaptic using "sudo synaptic" from the command line.
I came across the same issue when trying things out last night - my solution was to add the sudo prefix to the launch command entry via the menu editor. (Something similar happened with the "auto-created" menu entries for "ImageMagic", which would not work - although the "usual" display command line form was fine).
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:55 pm

CUPS is also asking for a username and password. pi/raspberry is not accepted. No idea how to setup my printer now.
EDIT: Forget about CUPS - my fault for not adding user to lpadmin group.

Also noticed similar problem with Synaptic as described above and the Atari emulator Stella will no longer start from the menu or from the terminal (with or without sudo) :(

haomself
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:53 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:57 pm

Jessie was very slow for me!
I downloaded the official image, checked the sha1 sum, dd -ed the image.
Power on to login prompt is about 30 sec, which is fine. However, I was then faced with a blank screen for 1 min 10 sec before the GUI is started (on second and third boot). This is on a Pi 2. Anyone else has better experience?

klricks
Posts: 6441
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:13 am

talm wrote:Synaptic requests a Password when started. pi does not work.
I downloaded Jessie yesterday and put it onto fresh cards.
Then I installed synaptic using apt-get as usual.

When started it requests a root password.

HELP!

Torbjörn Alm, Sweden
It is asking for the root password which does not exist by default in any of the Raspbian releases.
You can set a root password by issuing this command:

Code: Select all

sudo passwd root

Once the root password is set, Synaptic will then work when using the root password.

The included Aptitude package manager also exhibits the same behavior, even in the older Raspbian versions.

As mentioned you can also start Synaptic (or Aptitude) from the command line with sudo.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

klricks
Posts: 6441
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:24 am

haomself wrote:Jessie was very slow for me!
I downloaded the official image, checked the sha1 sum, dd -ed the image.
Power on to login prompt is about 30 sec, which is fine. However, I was then faced with a blank screen for 1 min 10 sec before the GUI is started (on second and third boot). This is on a Pi 2. Anyone else has better experience?
Power on to GUI: 18 sec
Reboot from GUI: 25 Sec
Halt from GUI: 7 sec
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 19795
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 11:39 am

I have noticed that when installing Synaptic and Gparted that when launching they ask for password, but the User is "root" not "pi", is this a foible ?? Can launch from CLi with sudo though !
adieu

My other Computer is an Asus CS10 ChromeBit running Chrome Operating System.
HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer supported by HPLIP software in Raspbian Buster.
Raspberry Pi Model 2B v1.1

SimonBlake
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:33 pm

Vanishing menu

Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:00 pm

I've been playing around with Jessie for a few hours now, and I've run into a problem of the menu disappearing. It seems to happen if I add a line to /home/pi/.config/lxsession/LXDE-pi/autostart to run a program (which happens to be a full screen GTK 3+ application, although I'm not yet sure if that matters).

I've done this twice now with new SD cards, and the behaviour is repeatable. Can anyone suggest how I can get the menu back?

Thanks

Simon

haomself
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:53 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:21 pm

klricks wrote:
Power on to GUI: 18 sec
Reboot from GUI: 25 Sec
Halt from GUI: 7 sec
Thanks for posting your stats. I am wondering what I could have done wrong? I used a microSD HC class 4 card. Maybe this is too slow?

User avatar
Ikaroz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:50 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:25 pm

Is there a new space requeriment for Jessie?

I was using a 4GB (3.69GiB) SD Card for Wheezy. The Jessie image has 4.325.376.000 bytes. I tried to write it to the sd card by using dd on linux and got an "no space left on device" error.

Bosse_B
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:52 pm

I just got me a brand new Pi2 to be used for software development using FreePascal and Lazarus.

I downloaded the RaspBian Jessie image from https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/raspbian/
Then I prepared the SDcard as I had done earlier many times with Wheezy and started it expecting a setup dialog like all other times.
But this boots directly into the GUI!
Nice but then my old habits do no longer work...

Question:
How do I customize Jessie now that the initial configuration pages are not shown?

I want to at least do this:
- Set the keyboard layout (I use a Swedish keyboard)
- Expand the disk to use all of the 32 GB on the SDcard
- Enable SSH
- Set the Pi password
- Set the hostname
- and a few other things I know I did before on other Pi:s

I also need to get tightvnc server on the Pi since I cannot borrow the main TV to use as testing display...

Is there a Raspbian Jessie webpage somewhere explaining the differences between Wheezy and Jessie?
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
PeterO
Posts: 4727
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:09 pm

Menu/Preferencies/Raspberry Pi Configuration
or
sudo raspi-config in a terminal window
or
Ctl+Att+F2 to switch to a virtual console, login as pi and run raspi-config from there.

PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.
"The primary requirement (as we've always seen in your examples) is that the code is readable. " Dougie Lawson

Bosse_B
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:32 pm

Thanks!
Menu/Preferencies/Raspberry Pi Configuration was it!
I changed the keyboard, timezone, overclock, hostname as a test and it did work out.
Next I will expand the file system and go from there.
I can do the rest via SSH and then VNC.
Bo Berglund
Sweden

Bosse_B
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:48 pm

I tried to install tightvnc according to instructions found here:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /README.md
But on the 3rd command I got an error message:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24

Warning: rpi2-jessie:0 is taken because of /tmp/.X0-lock
Remove this file if there is no X server rpi2-jessie:0
A VNC server is already running as :0
And my attempt at connecting from Windows TightVNC client failed.
On another Pi1B+ with Raspbian Wheezy this dis not happen.
What could be wrong here?
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
blachanc
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:03 am
Location: Quebec,canada(french)

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:14 pm

Bosse_B wrote:I tried to install tightvnc according to instructions found here:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /README.md
?
If you do not NEED tightvnc, you could install xrdp (sudo apt-get install xrdp)

Why use VNC and not XRDP?

I did, and was up and running in two minutes. ( I use weaved to access remotely to my PI desktop via windows built-in remote desktop)

Ben
Autism/Asperger syndrome: what is your score on this quiz?
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=70191

Bosse_B
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:29 pm

RDP is not really in my liking from use in Windows...
I have tried to reboot the RPi2 Jessie now several times but I still cannot get past this.
When I try to connect from outside to the RPi I get an error box saying that the target actively refused the connection.
I believe that is because there is noone listening to the VNC port on the RPi.

A few days ago back in the USA I did this installation on two older RPi:s that were headless running an older version of Raspbian and it worked out just fine following the guide I linked to above.
One was set up in the same house I was in and the other over here in Sweden via a PuTTY session and an OpenVPN tunnel.
Both worked "out of he box".

Seems like there is some difference between Jessie and Wheezy
or
when running the Pi headless or with an attached TV as display
or
between having the pi user log on automatically to the desktop (Jessie) or not (Wheezy).

EDIT:
I shut down the Pi and then removed the display and started it again. No change...
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 01, 2015 11:42 pm

Bosse_B wrote:I tried to install tightvnc according to instructions found here:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /README.md
But on the 3rd command I got an error message:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24

Warning: rpi2-jessie:0 is taken because of /tmp/.X0-lock
Remove this file if there is no X server rpi2-jessie:0
A VNC server is already running as :0
And my attempt at connecting from Windows TightVNC client failed.
On another Pi1B+ with Raspbian Wheezy this dis not happen.
What could be wrong here?
The Raspbian Jessie image now boots into the Desktop by default, the instruction for VNC assume that the raspberrypi is booting to the command line. If you are using your Raspberry Pi headless, use raspi-config to change the boot behaviour of your Raspberry Pi.

knute
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:14 am
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:05 am

What's the deal with halt? It doesn't cause the green LED to flash 10 times but appears to stop the computer. Should we use halt or shutdown -h?

Thanks,

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:23 am

knute wrote:What's the deal with halt? It doesn't cause the green LED to flash 10 times but appears to stop the computer. Should we use halt or shutdown -h?

Thanks,
I noticed that too. I have using either halt -p or poweroff works for me.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14453
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:06 am

The halt command has previously done the wrong thing in Debian (and therefore Raspbian). It is supposed to put the system in a "halt" state and leave it there, but it previously went to a "poweroff" state instead. That bug has been fixed in Jessie. You'll have to learn to use poweroff instead of halt. :(

It's even more annoying on PCs where halt used to turn off the PSU as well, but now leaves the system powered with "System halted" on the screen :(

User avatar
Fidelius
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:40 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 6:37 am

rpdom wrote:You'll have to learn to use poweroff instead of halt.
I'm using "sudo poweroff" on all my Linux machines including the Pi's for a longe time, since ... the command doesn't need parameters and I never could remember the halt and shutdown syntax. ;-)

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 19795
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 6:43 am

Fidelius wrote:
rpdom wrote:You'll have to learn to use poweroff instead of halt.
I'm using "sudo poweroff" on all my Linux machines including the Pi's for a longe time, since ... the command doesn't need parameters and I never could remember the halt and shutdown syntax. ;-)

Code: Select all

sudo shutdown -h now
adieu

My other Computer is an Asus CS10 ChromeBit running Chrome Operating System.
HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer supported by HPLIP software in Raspbian Buster.
Raspberry Pi Model 2B v1.1

hippy
Posts: 5353
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Jessie Q&A - IP Addess Settings

Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:12 am

Where should IP address settings be specified using Jessie; using /etc/network/interfaces, through dhcpcd configuration (/etc/dhcpcd.conf), or something else ?

Return to “Raspbian”