Bluenosebuggin
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:35 am

RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:53 pm

ive reinstalled this OS over and over again trying to fix my problem but it doesnt. Therefor im guessing its just something i forgot to set up when i first install everything. i have sound in emulation station and everything else but as soon as i lauch a rom the sound doesnt work. everything else is working flawless please someone point me in the right direction ive had my Pi2 for 2 weeks and still have no fully working result!

stainy
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:39 pm

I had to force hdmi something in the config.txt
That file is in the /boot I think.

Found the original.

Try this..

If HDMI, have you uncommented/added “hdmi_drive=2″ in /boot/config.txt? (Needed to get sound in screen modes other than the standard HDMI resolutions (e.g. 1280×720, 1920×1080, etc.)

Bluenosebuggin
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:35 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:32 pm

Already tried that any other suggestions ?

Neil Munday
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:52 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Mar 12, 2015 8:33 pm

From: http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... MI_monitor

You could try adding these settings to /boot/config.txt:

Code: Select all

hdmi_drive=2
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_force_edid_audio=1
Have you got access to another HDMI TV just in case it's something to do with the TV? I've had a couple of users report similar sound issues to you with PES and in both cases using an alternative TV worked for them. Not a great solution I know, but it might help to rule some things out first. You could also try plugging speakers or headphones into the headphone socket on your RPi to see if you get any sound that way.

Hope this helps,

Neil.
http://pes.mundayweb.com -> The Pi Entertainment System for all your gaming needs

Krumlov
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:23 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:57 am

Can I add to this thread as I have the same problem.

Sound works fine from the command line using aplay. I can play the demo .wav files in /usr/share/sounds/alsa

However in emulation station and the two emulators I am currently using (megadrive and SNES) there is no sound. I have tried changing the retroarch.cfg file by adjusting audio_out_rate to 44100, ensuring audio_enable is true, audio_driver is alsathread and audio_volume I changed to 90.

So any ideas?

KitchUK
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:42 pm

Krumlov wrote:Can I add to this thread as I have the same problem.

Sound works fine from the command line using aplay. I can play the demo .wav files in /usr/share/sounds/alsa

However in emulation station and the two emulators I am currently using (megadrive and SNES) there is no sound. I have tried changing the retroarch.cfg file by adjusting audio_out_rate to 44100, ensuring audio_enable is true, audio_driver is alsathread and audio_volume I changed to 90.

So any ideas?
Silly question, but have you got the sound turned up withing emulationstations settings?

Krumlov
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:23 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:07 pm

No silly questions...yes.

Neil Munday
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:52 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:25 am

Hi,

Try adding the following to your RetroArch config file:

Code: Select all

audio_device = hw:0,1
audio_volume = 12.0
Cheers,

Neil.
http://pes.mundayweb.com -> The Pi Entertainment System for all your gaming needs

Krumlov
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:23 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:57 pm

Thanks Neil. I tried that but it didnt help. However whilst doing that and the various reboots I noticed the sound worked once. Then I noticed that it worked in PORTS and PLAYSTATION. Watching closely I saw a quick flash before the game started of HDMI CEA Mode 4. A bit of goggling and I uncommented the following lines and changed the mode to 4:

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=4
That has fixed it although I would like to know why two of the emulators worked and the other two didn't. I assume those emulators had their own way of setting the video resolution?

Seygoh
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:32 pm

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:46 pm

I had the same issue, I changed everything I saw others suggesting.

add this to /boot/config.txt (which you've already done)
hdmi_drive=2
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_force_edid_audio=1

Also change the audio setups in the /etc/retroarch.cfg
audio_out_rate=44100
audio_driver=sdl
audio_device = hw:0,1
audio_volume = 12.0
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=4

goose2000
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:15 pm

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:57 am

Just want to report in I have this trouble too, fresh retropie install and no sound in any thing. Will try these steps...

bsg77
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:41 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:11 am

Greetings,

Solved the problem by:

-starting retropie
-go to retropie configurations
-go to “configuration editor”
-next, go to “Advanced Configuration”
-go to “Configure Libreto options “
-go to “all/retroarch.cfg”
-go to “audio_driver” and select driver

I insralled RetroPie on a RaspberryPi OS on my Toshiba laptop...I selected “alsa” driver and it worked instantly.

Hope this helps.

bsg77
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:41 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:01 am

Greetings,

Start Retropie
-go to retropie configuration
-go to configuration editor
-select “Advance Configuration”
-select “configure Libretro options”
-select “all/retroarch.cfg”
-go to “audio_driver” then select a driver.

Hope this helps.

Tenton
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:26 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:37 am

Hello,

same issue for me. In menu sound over hdmi and the output jack works. In emulators there is no sound.
I want to try all the solutions here, but I cannot find the retroarch.cfg. It is not in the posted dirctory.
Can you help me with a command line to find it? I am new to all of this.
Will the posted changes affect the input jack? I want to use it for headphones.

I would be very happy if you can help me.

Thanks a lot!

Tenton
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:26 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:42 am

Ok, I did find the config file. Changing it by using the entrys posted here did not help. Choosing another driver in retroarch and emulationstation did work. But now I have no sound over the output Jack. Only Hdmi works. Also emulators will not start when connect to a Monitor without hdmi sound. I ordered a hdmi sound extractor to solve the problem. Not very elegant, but if that works it's ok for me.

TheHBBD
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:14 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:20 am

Yes it did! Worked perfect on a Dell laptop.

Thanks for the instructions!

Cheers...
bsg77 wrote:
Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:11 am
Greetings,

Solved the problem by:

-starting retropie
-go to retropie configurations
-go to “configuration editor”
-next, go to “Advanced Configuration”
-go to “Configure Libreto options “
-go to “all/retroarch.cfg”
-go to “audio_driver” and select driver

I insralled RetroPie on a RaspberryPi OS on my Toshiba laptop...I selected “alsa” driver and it worked instantly.

Hope this helps.

Blackhat1984
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:34 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:38 am

Hi everybody, I've been 2 days with a similar problem. I have my retropie with audio connected to the audio jack and the video on vga, with a hdmi to vga converter, thing is i have no audio on the roms only on the menus and the splash screen, please help me out

Blackhat1984
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:34 am

Re: RetroPie Every Emulator has no sound

Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:49 am

What driver must I use on the raspberry pi 3, using emulation station

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests