robo-bal
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:14 pm

Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 8:16 pm

I can't login remotely using powershell. After issuing the command "Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost>\Administrator" where 192.168.0.41 is my RPi2 machine, I get a login prompt to login is "localhost\Administrator". I try login using the default password "p@ssw@rd" and I can't login. What am I doing wrong?

tohipfortheroom
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:05 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 9:27 pm

could be many things setting powershell took me a couple hours, sadly lol
have you run the command winrm quickconfig ?

Stanto
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:35 am

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 10:18 pm

robo-bal wrote:I can't login remotely using powershell. After issuing the command "Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost>\Administrator" where 192.168.0.41 is my RPi2 machine, I get a login prompt to login is "localhost\Administrator". I try login using the default password "p@ssw@rd" and I can't login. What am I doing wrong?
Try:
Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost\Administrator
The chevron was only there for this portion of the text:
<machine-name or IP Address or localhost>
Which was implying that machine-name, IP Address, localhost, were options and to only choose one. You should not have > or < before \Administrator.

jtanner_msft
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 10:50 pm

If you take a look at this page it'll walk you thru the steps to establish a remote connection:
http://ms-iot.github.io/content/win10/s ... rShell.htm

Based upon what you had posted I think the problem you're having was you were using 'p@ssw@rd'.

The default password is actually: p@ssw0rd - (or p<at sign>ssw<zero>rd)

I hope that helps.

~Jonathan Tanner [MSFT]
Jonathan Tanner | Microsoft | Windows 10 IoT Core Insider Preview Support | This posting is provided 'as is' with no warranties and confers no rights.

robo-bal
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:14 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 11:03 pm

I have run winrm quickconfig and answered Y to all the questions. here is the error I get, I tried localhost/Administrator too.


PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential 192.168.0.31
Enter-PsSession : Connecting to remote server 192.168.0.41 failed with the following error message : Access is denied. For more
information, see the about_Remote_Troubleshooting Help topic.
At line:1 char:1
+ Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential 192.168.0.31
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidArgument: (192.168.0.41:String) [Enter-PSSession], PSRemotingTransportException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CreateRemoteRunspaceFailed

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32>

robo-bal
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:14 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 11:07 pm

When I issue :

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost/Administrator

The pop sign on window tells me to use "example: username@domain/DOMAIN/username" for the user name.

Man I'm stumped.

jtanner_msft
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 11:10 pm

The connection string should be:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName <machine-name or IP Address> -Credential <machine-name or IP Address or localhost>\Administrator

So for example:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName 192.168.0.10 -Credential 192.168.0.10\Administrator

<or for a system name>

Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi2 -Credential myrpi2\Administrator

And to clarify the IP or system name should be that of your Rpi2 board, not the localhost or system you're running Powershell on.
Jonathan Tanner | Microsoft | Windows 10 IoT Core Insider Preview Support | This posting is provided 'as is' with no warranties and confers no rights.

tohipfortheroom
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:05 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Fri May 01, 2015 11:32 pm

Try logging in though a a Internet broswer just place your IP address in the search so for example it's http://10.0.1.2

See if that loads the manager

eggster
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:35 am

Re: Can't remote login

Sat May 02, 2015 2:20 pm

I must admit, I had a really hard time getting remote PowerShell to connect properly.
Using Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi -Credential myrpi\Administrator ended up fixing my issues though.

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Can't remote login

Sat May 02, 2015 2:51 pm

Wow it is a really difficult to remotely login into this thing. Hope MS fixes this in the real release. Remote login in should be as easy as Pi(e). I keep on getting errors.

After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc

I get:
Set-Item : Access is denied.
At line:1 char:9
+ Set-Item <<<< WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Set-Item], InvalidOperationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.InvalidOperationException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetItemCommand

luke.arran
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:36 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Sat May 02, 2015 5:38 pm

John_ wrote:Wow it is a really difficult to remotely login into this thing. Hope MS fixes this in the real release. Remote login in should be as easy as Pi(e). I keep on getting errors.

After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc

I get:
Set-Item : Access is denied.
At line:1 char:9
+ Set-Item <<<< WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Set-Item], InvalidOperationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.InvalidOperationException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetItemCommand
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.

robo-bal
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:14 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Sat May 02, 2015 11:14 pm

jtanner_msft wrote:The connection string should be:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName <machine-name or IP Address> -Credential <machine-name or IP Address or localhost>\Administrator

So for example:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName 192.168.0.10 -Credential 192.168.0.10\Administrator

<or for a system name>

Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi2 -Credential myrpi2\Administrator

And to clarify the IP or system name should be that of your Rpi2 board, not the localhost or system you're running Powershell on.
Thanks! I can now login!!!

robo-bal
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:14 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Sat May 02, 2015 11:15 pm

tohipfortheroom wrote:Try logging in though a a Internet broswer just place your IP address in the search so for example it's http://10.0.1.2

See if that loads the manager
This also worked for me. Wow took me hours and lots helps from you guys to do this. It should be much simpler.

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Can't remote login

Sun May 03, 2015 6:15 am

luke.arran wrote:
John_ wrote:...
After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
..
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.
I am running it as admin, might have to do with me using W7 for this.

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Can't remote login

Mon May 11, 2015 7:28 pm

John_ wrote:
luke.arran wrote:
John_ wrote:...
After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
..
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.
I am running it as admin, might have to do with me using W7 for this.
Did you successfully change the name to minwinpc? If not, use the ip address. A trusted hot is a trusted host, shouldn't matter that you are on Win 7. (Works from Win 8.1)

Gerrit

drgeoff
Posts: 7334
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Mon May 18, 2015 10:23 am

I too cannot get the TrustedHost line to work from Windows 7 (Pro SP1 fully patched). I am running PS as Administrator. I have typed the line several times and tried a copy and paste from the MS page. Tried both the machine name and the IP address shown on the RPi screen after booting.
Attachments
SetItemFail.png
SetItemFail.png (19.75 KiB) Viewed 7430 times

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Can't remote login

Mon May 18, 2015 10:36 am

Someone else reported that not having a password on Windows 7 account caused this symptom. They turned off UAC which should only be a temporary solution. Best to set an account pw if not already done.

drgeoff
Posts: 7334
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Can't remote login

Mon May 18, 2015 10:58 am

GerritV wrote:Someone else reported that not having a password on Windows 7 account caused this symptom. They turned off UAC which should only be a temporary solution. Best to set an account pw if not already done.
The account already had a password.

Since my post above I found viewtopic.php?p=760355#p760355. Turning off UAC and rebooting has cleared that hurdle.

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Can't remote login

Mon May 18, 2015 1:37 pm

Just be aware that there are risks associated with running with UAC disabled.

I use Windows 8.1 and haven't seen your specific issue... so maybe related to Win 7.

Gerrit

fiveA
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:05 am

Re: Can't remote login

Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:21 am

We've changed the password in Powershell and we can't access it using the new password. What can we do? :(

ricl
Posts: 657
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:55 am

Re: Can't remote login

Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:37 pm

If all else fails, re-flash the OS and return to known factory settings
ricl : F/gamma = ma : Law ii(a) : https://climatedatablog.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/an-energy-challenge-2016/ #AnEnergyChallenge2016

Return to “Windows 10 for IoT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests